ZAC BROWN

Review: Zac Brown gives intense show at the i wireless Center

2012-08-03T23:47:00Z 2012-08-04T23:23:18Z Review: Zac Brown gives intense show at the i wireless CenterDavid Burke The Quad-City Times
August 03, 2012 11:47 pm  • 

With an intensity far outdistancing any other country performer and many rock acts, the Zac Brown Band riled up a sellout audience of 10,500 Friday night at the i wireless Center, Moline.

With Brown leading the seven-piece band, each of whom had jaw-dropping individual musical talents, the crowd spent the night in a fist-pumping, singalong, frenzied night.

Some of that frenzy spilled out into the audience during guitarist Clay Cook’s solo, leading to an altercation and several edgy moments for those in the crowd. After an onstage admonishment from Brown, including a threat to stop the show then and there, all of the attention was back on the band.

With 22 or so songs that went past the scheduled two-hour time frame, the energy from the band was dominant from the opening notes of its hit “Keep Me in Mind” to the applause after the final notes of “Chicken Fried,” the song that put the ZBB on the map, at the conclusion. Even comparative slower songs from the group, such as its hits “Highway 20 Ride,” “Free” and “Colder Weather” felt like they had more muscle behind them than the radio single versions.

The band members, several of whom play multiple instruments, were just as energetic when they weren’t in the spotlight, running around like the Keystone Kops while a bandmate had attention in the center stage.

Even in the band’s acoustic set, where they moved to the middle of the runway and sat on wooden crates, 10-gallon buckets and end tables, there was only the slightest hint of mellowness. That set ended with a cover of Aerosmith’s “Sweet Emotion,” which demonstrated that loud, forceful music can come from an acoustic band. A cover of “Isn’t She Lovely?” (the second Stevie Wonder remake in two days, after Billy Currington’s at the Mississippi Valley Fair on Thursday) bookended a redux of “Neon” by John Mayer (Cook’s music college roommate).

The band closed its regular set with “The Devil Went Down to Georgia,” with more fire than even the Charlie Daniels Band at its heyday.

In one of the few slow-paced moments, the band led the crowd in a touching version of “America the Beautiful,” before concluding with “Chicken Fried.”

With a generous portion of cuts from its first three albums, but without the ZBB hit “Whatever It Is,” the band maintained a fistlike grip on the audience throughout the night. Let’s hope it’s the first of many trips to the Q-C for the ZBB.

One of the opening acts, singer Sonia Leigh, bowed out of the i wireless Center date and the other, Nic Cowan, filled an entire hour. Both are signed to Brown’s Southern Ground Records label. Cowan’s band would be a better fit for a nightclub at this stage but its sound, similar to Neil Young and The Doors on some extremes, resonated with some in the audience.

Copyright 2015 The Quad-City Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

(7) Comments

  1. Baldy007
    Report Abuse
    Baldy007 - August 10, 2012 7:46 am
    It was an awesome show. But I was hoping to see them play "whatever it is". Anyone know why they didn't?
  2. Six_String
    Report Abuse
    Six_String - August 05, 2012 10:21 pm
    He probably listens to rap and over-produced pop music (AKA auto-tune) and thinks it's talent.
  3. Six_String
    Report Abuse
    Six_String - August 05, 2012 10:20 pm
    Bring it up with iWireless management. There's no reason someone should treat customers rudely, and they do listen to complaints.
  4. Coco007
    Report Abuse
    Coco007 - August 04, 2012 7:01 pm
    Who remembers when you could go to a concert, set down next to someone and became instant Party Buddy's? Who remembers never being searched for weapons or being told to go to your seat because you was dancing in the Isle??? I understand that Security needs to be tight but they over did it last Night, A Security Guard named John was just as rude as he could be to people for no apparent reason, (he must have been beat up allot in School) I'm pretty sure he put ill feelings in allot of peoples heads last Night as he was one Big Downer!!! Dude we know your Security but come on now, Dancing in the Isle doesn't hurt anyone!!
  5. qcmartin
    Report Abuse
    qcmartin - August 04, 2012 5:24 pm
    Mike, please leave the Quad Cities. We don't want the likes of you enjoying any of the benefits of the hundreds of thousands of dollars brought in to our economy from the patrons who enjoy the fairs and other venues that host country music.
  6. mags65
    Report Abuse
    mags65 - August 04, 2012 11:52 am
    @ mike - Really?? just a bit judgmental aren't you? Do you stereotype everyone who listens to country music as rednecks?
  7. mike
    Report Abuse
    mike - August 04, 2012 8:41 am
    I'm guessing all the trailer parks around the QC have been empty lately. Between the massive number of redneck bands playing at the Mississippi Valley Fair and this show, if you have a big mullet and very few teeth, this has been a great week.
Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Follow Go&Do



Activate subscription button gif

Movie times

Get weekly ads via e-mail