RI students named to Honor Society

Twenty-eight students from Rock Island High School were inducted into the National Honor Society during a ceremony April 7 at the high school.

New members include: Sheila Ahuja, Derrick Anderson, Tekiah Banks, Sarah Bebber, Brinn Bell, Allison Brown, Francesca Byczynski, Alexandria Clark, Phatcharin Dara, Aaron DeFauw, Lecia Gordon, Raul Hernandez, Lexi Holtzer, Jerraco Johnson, Kevin Johnson, Matthew Johnson, Joshua Keim, Kelsey Kernan, Amanda Kerr, Jennie Kirk, T'Keyah Loggins, Kilian Macias, Jonathon McClendon, Caitriona McGrath Nagle, Brian Miers, Carmen Mojica, Debbie Newcomb, Kayla Pearson, Owen Pomije, Derek Ross, Travis Scudder, Grant Snyder, Kailee Steger, Taylor VerMeer, Kisha Williams, Megan Wilson, Alex Wolking and Minjun Xu.

The National Honor Society honors outstanding high school students. Students at Rock Island High School are recognized for maintaining a grade-point average of 3.5 or more and volunteering a minimum of 10 hours per year in the community.

Student is semifinalist in geography bee

Eric Papendorf, son of Brenda and Stan Papendorf, Long Grove, Iowa, was a semifinalist in the 2010 Iowa Geographic Bee. He is an eighth-grader at North Scott Junior High School, Eldridge, Iowa.

Bees were held in schools with fourth- through eighth-grade students throughout Iowa to determine each school's winner. School-level winners then took a qualifying test that they submitted to the National Geographic Society. The students with the top 100 scores in each state were invited to compete at the state level.

Intouch Day Services inducts volunteers

Intouch Adult Day Services, a program of Lutheran Social Services of Illinois in Moline, inducted six new Legacy Corps members at a ceremony April 8.

Andrea Jones, Le'a Robinson and Allison Elfline, all of Rock Island; J.D. Hurt and Edward Gomez, both of Silvis, Ill.; and Melodie Hill, Colona, Ill., completed 20 hours of training in dementia care, health and safety, and Lutheran Social Services and AmeriCorps policy and procedures.

Debra Morgan, Davenport, Intouch Adult Day Services' Legacy Corps Generation Specialist, and Bonnie Mattox, Moline, Legacy Corps volunteer, also were recognized for completing one year of service.

Legacy Corps is a volunteer program that offers adults a chance to combine lifelong learning with community service while providing respite services to caregivers of older adults. Lutheran Social Services of Illinois is the only agency in the state, and one of only 11 agencies in the United States, selected to participate in the Legacy Corps, which is managed by the University of Maryland.

Legacy Corps volunteers do not provide nursing care. They provide in-home, non-medical care to older adults to enable them to remain independent and provide relief to their primary caregivers for up to four hours per week. For more information, contact Jennifer Hart at (309) 797-0200.

Illinois volunteers receive awards

Area residents were among 13 Illinois volunteers honored April 12 with the Governor's Volunteer Service Award for their community service.

The awards focus on the areas of economic opportunity, education, environmental conservation, health and veterans' affairs. Individuals in three age categories were honored: youth 18 years and younger, adults 19-54 years old, and retirees/seniors 55 years and older. A panel of judges from across the state selected the recipients.

The recipients included:

Brad Foreman, Rapids City, adult, volunteer service in education, nominated for service at Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Mississippi Valley.

Janis Haugen, East Moline, senior, volunteer service in economic opportunity, nominated for service at The Arc of Rock Island County.

Cristina Campos, Galesburg, adult, volunteer service in education, nominated for work as a volunteer literacy tutor at the Carl Sandburg College Literacy Coalition.

Jack Larson, Galesburg, senior, volunteer service in education, nominated for extensive service to the Galesburg community, notably through "Project Santa" (a shoe and gift distribution with the Galesburg Community Foundation and local Elks lodge) and support of school district 205's band program.

For more information about volunteerism in Illinois, visit www.Serve.Illinois.gov.

Student elected to Phi Beta Kappa

Christopher Handke, Bellevue, Iowa, was one of 14 students at Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa, inducted into Phi Beta Kappa honor society.

Election is based on good character and a distinguished record of performance in courses that demonstrate a broad exposure to the liberal arts. His name will be added to a permanent plaque in the Cole Library listing all members elected to Cornell's chapter.

Student selected for international internship

Maria Chickering, a student at North Scott High School, Eldridge, is one of 16 students selected by the World Food Prize Foundation for a 2010 Borlaug-Ruan International Internship.

The students will complete eight-week expense-paid international internships at leading agricultural research centers in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East. Chickering has accepted an assignment at the China Agricultural University in Beijing, China.

The Borlaug-Ruan Internship is a program that allows students to participate in projects with world-renowned researchers. While getting a first-hand view of pressing food security issues and nutritional problems in poverty-stricken areas, the students become an integral part of projects, spending time in the lab as well as days or weeks in the field gathering data and conducting research.

Bettendorf native gets medical award

Dr. Katherine Harris, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Michael Gimbel, Bettendorf, received the 2010 LeeAnn McCaffrey M.D. Women in Medicine Award from the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.

Only one female resident each year is honored with the award, which recognizes excellence in the Internal Medicine Residency Program.

Harris is a graduate of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. She will complete her three-year internal medicine residency at the Mayo Clinic in June 2010.

Moline library wins national contest

The Moline Public Library was chosen as the grand prize winner in the national Frommer's Library Display Contest.

As a result, the library won 50 Frommer's travel guides and a special presentation by nationally acclaimed authors Arthur and Pauline Frommer.

ISU student receives agriculture award

Joseph Thomas, Camanche, Iowa, received the Outstanding Sophomore Award from Gamma Sigma Delta agriculture honor society at the Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Ames.

The award is presented to the student who earns the highest grade-point average in sophomore classes. Thomas is majoring in animal science.

Quilters chosen for international festival

Seven members of the Mississippi Valley Quilters Guild had quilts accepted to hang at the International Quilt Festival the weekend of April 16-18 in Chicago.

Rosalie Baker, Davenport, was awarded Best of Show in the "Celebrate Spring" challenge. Marilyn Galley and Julie Gray, both of Rock Island; Dee Kuenning, Moline; Carol Brooks, North Henderson, Ill.; Mardi Huebner, LeClaire, Iowa; and Sandi Carstensen, Clinton, Iowa, also were selected to show their quilts at the exhibit.