Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Quad-City Arts High School Invitational

Quad-City Arts awarded more than $2,000 in cash and gift certificates in the 40th annual High School Art Invitational. Area high school students and teachers received awards for excellence in fine art. The exhibition was made possible by the Butterworth Center and Deere-Wiman House.

The following students received awards:

Quad-City Arts Board Scholarship: First Place: Gabrielle Schadt, instructed by David Anderson; Second Place: Syndie Alspaw, Moline High School; Third Place: Faith Bonilla, Bettendorf High School.

Don Heggen Memorial award for excellence in watercolor: Faith Mutum, Rock Island High School; Janiece Maddox, Davenport Central.

Most Creative Concept award, sponsored by Joel and Diane Franken: Haley Petz, Davenport Central and Creative Arts Academy.

Juror’s Choice awards for artistic excellence: India Bradley, Rock Island High School; Nicole Meyers, Davenport Central and Creative Arts Academy; EhTu Tha, Rock Island High School; Elijah Westmorland, Rock Island High School; Nikhil Wagher, Rivermont Collegiate.

Dr. Alexander and Norma Locascio award for artistic excellence: Mikayla Farrington, Davenport North.

Most Whimsical award, sponsored by Charles White: Hunter Bell, Davenport North.

Cutting Edge award, sponsored by Cutting Edge Productions: Jason VanDerLinden II, Sherrard (Illinois) High School.

Excellence in Clay, sponsored by Marilyn Davis: Gwen Johnson, Davenport Central.

Deborah Doehler Studio award for jewelry: Jazmine McCullough, Moline High School.

Excellence in Photography award, sponsored by Jack Wilhoit: Makayla Covey, Davenport West High School.

Natural World award, sponsored by Ralph Iaccarino: Agata Burzynska, Rock Island High School.

Carlos Centroe award for mastery of technique: Timothy Did, Rock Island High School.

Judy Heath award for artistic merit: Isabelle Kern, Davenport Central High School.

Mark and Barbara Zimmerman award for artistic excellence: Miles Roelle, Davenport Central.

Living Lands and Waters 1st place for use of recycled materials: Jason VanDerLinden II, Sherrard (Illinois) High School; Nick Cato, Davenport North High School.

Quad-City Arts' Staff award: Pierce Howard, Davenport North High School.

Award for Artistic Merit, sponsored by Terry Rathje: Faith Anderson, Davenport North High School; Rebecca Quick, Moline High School.

Award for excellence in film: Jeanna Mae Jaurigue, Sherrard High School.

The Mississippi Valley Woodcarvers award: Oliviana Kramer, Davenport Central High School.

Left Bank Art League Scholarship awards: Camryn Clark, Moline High School; Elise Fippinger, Mercer County High School, Edgar Marceleno, Moline High School.

Rock Island Art Guild members selections: Agata Burzynska, Rock Island High School; Gabrielle Schadt, instructed by David Anderson; Timothy Did, Rock Island High School; Ian Brown, Davenport North High School.

The following teachers received awards:

Teacher’s Awards: 1st place: David Schaeffer, Davenport North High School; 2nd place: Renee Ott, Davenport Central High School; 3rd place: Pat Bereskin, Mrs. B’s School of Art; 4th place: Tim Solbrig, Bettendorf High School.