ISU leadership class

Thi Nguyen, of Davenport and first-year Iowa State University student in Ames, was recently invited to participate in the 2015-16 President’s Leadership Class. Nguyen is a chemical engineering major.

Students are selected on the basis of high school leadership experience, academic achievement and involvement in school and community service. Each student also receives a $1,500 scholarship.

Nguyen is a graduate of Davenport West High School.

Clarke student wins scholarship

Karan Sieverding, of Bellevue, Iowa, and a senior graphic-design major at Clarke University in Dubuque, was recently named the winner of this year’s American Advertising Federation Dubuque Student Scholarship. This is the fourth straight year that a Clarke student has won the award.

The scholarship is open to tri-state area college students who have declared majors in marketing, advertising, public relations, communications, graphic design or a related field.

Area Coe students are recognized

Sydney Buckles, of Davenport, spent the fall term in Florence, Italy, as a participant in an accredited off-campus study program. Buckles, a 2013 graduate of West High School, is the daughter of Brenda Jordahl-Buckles.

Participants of the program study local languages and immerse themselves in local cultures, often staying with host families. Upon their return to Coe, many students base advanced research or performance projects on their experiences abroad. Buckles is a junior at Coe majoring in art history, with a minor in art.

Ethan Hong, of Milan, recently played the alto saxophone as part of the orchestra in the Coe College theatre production of “Merrily We Roll Along.” Hong, a 2015 graduate of Rock Island High School, is the son of Chris and Angel Hong.

"Merrily We Roll Along" was written by George Furth, with music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim. For more information on theatre at Coe and upcoming productions, please visit

Coe College is located in Cedar Rapids.

U.S. Service Academies nominees

Iowa Sens. Joni Ernst and Chuck Grassley have announced these names of nominees for U.S. Service Academies for 2016-20:

U.S. Air Force Academy — Alan Chatfield, Muscatine; Abraham Fisher, Clinton; Brandon Gore, Bettendorf; Patrick Schwartzhoff, Davenport; and John Sullivan, Davenport

U.S. Military Academy at West Point — Jerry Bastin, Muscatine

U.S. Naval Academy — Robert Beardsley, Bettendorf; and Hunter Wargo, West Branch

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy — Robert Beardsley, Bettendorf