Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Highway construction training grads

These students graduated from the 13-week Highway Construction Careers Training Program at Black Hawk College, Rock Island:


East Moline: Hessou-we Kaga, Dennis Mierzwa, Catherine Wilson.

Moline: Chanea Drummond (perfect attendance), Yawo Goyito-Mensah (perfect attendance), Ceyshaun Jordan, Logan VanOpdorp.


Bettendorf: Poncho Hare.

Davenport: Robert Johnson, LeAnn Perez, Joseph Scott.

The 450-hour program aims to increase the number of minorities, women and disadvantaged individuals working on Illinois Department of Transportation highway construction projects. There is no cost to participants.

The next program will begin in March. For more information, contact Paul Fessler at 309-796-5729 or

Augustana student among Lincoln honorees

Christopher S. Saladin, a student at Augustana College, Rock Island, has been recognized by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois. Top students from each college and university in Illinois were honored during the annual Student Laureate Convocation on Nov. 12 at the Old State Capitol in Springfield.

The Lincoln Academy’s Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state’s four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. Each honoree received a Student Laureate Medallion, a $1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. 

Illinois State Scholars announced

Four students at Rivermont Collegiate, Bettendorf, have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars. They are:  Shivani Ganesh, East Moline, Benjamin Nordick, Milan, Manasa Pagadala, Rock Island, and Emilia Porubcin, Coal Valley.

Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 765 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars are selected based on a combination of ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.