Subscribe for 33¢ / day


The following students received bachelor’s degrees, unless otherwise indicated:

  • Grantham University, Lenexa, Kansas


Galva: Lance Masias (AA).

Moline: Donald Rice (AS, BS)

Port Byron: Charles Larson (AS, BS).

Rock Island: Donald Engling (AA), Scott Voigt (AA, BA).


Bellevue: Michael Geiger (AA, BS).

Bettendorf: KaTrina Palmer (AA), Craig Shields.

Davenport: Reginald Hurt (BS, MBA), Sherice Perry, Kim Willingham (MBA).

LeClaire: Maike DeMaria.

  • Western Governors University, Salt Lake City, Utah

Bettendorf: Charlotte Downes (MA), Tiffany Lotz, Thomas Plymell (MBA).

Davenport: Courtney Wilson.

Eldridge: Krystle Jaeger, Erica Odegaard (MS).

  • Mount Mercy University, Cedar Rapids


Clarence: Eric Hansen

  • University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh


Muscatine: Shelah A. Kerschenske


  • Annie De Vries, of Eldridge, has been elected to Student Senate at Central College, Pella, Iowa. She will serve during the 2017-18 academic year.
  • Anna Fleming, of Davenport, was elected to the Ladies in Fitness Training Club executive board for the 2017-18 academic year at Iowa State University. Fleming, a freshman in animal science, will serve as sports club council representative. 
  • Rebecca Hoerres, of Hillsdale, Illinois, was elected as Speaker of the Senate of Graceland University’s Student Government, Lamoni, Iowa. She will serve during the 2017-18 academic year.


  • Heather Van Itallie, of Davenport, was admitted to the Honors Program at Northwestern College, Orange City, Iowa. She is majoring in Christian education/youth ministry.
  • Clifton Simmons, of Davenport, is among 36 science and mathematics students selected as Porter Scholars at Adams State University, Alamoso, Colorado.  He is majoring in physical geography and is president of the Geo Club.


  • Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois honored volunteers for providing girls with life-changing experiences to empower themselves. Honorees include:  

ILLINOIS: Taunya McGee, Geneseo; Audrey Adamson and Bobbi Jackson, Moline; Judy Johnson and Gena McCullough, Rock Island.

IOWA:  Angelia Mitchell, Sandra Mitchell, Katie Resig and Stacey Ryan, all of Bettendorf; Laura Torgerud, Davenport; Jennifer Kolwey, LeClaire.

  • Samuel Hinkhouse, of Wapello, Iowa, was named a Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete for competitive cheer by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) at Graceland University, Lamoni, Iowa.
  • Megan Slattery, of Calamus, Iowa, has been named 2017 Student Sensation in the College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University, Ames. Slattery, a junior in nutritional science, was one of 15 students selected.
  • Kevin Wagner, an Iowa State University senior from Bettendorf, was selected to present his research at the 31st annual National Conference on Undergraduate Research April 6-8 at the University of Memphis, Tennessee. Wagner, who majors in psychology, presented "Our Language Influences How We Conceptualize the World: The Effects of Word Order on Mental Representations."


  • Asrielle Allen, a student at Rock Island High School, was awarded a $5,000 Thoms Family Above and Beyond Scholarship for her “Girls Leading the Way” project. Other scholarship recipients and their projects are: PaulBilori, $1,000, I-Serve; Elisabeth Hoeper, $500, Projecting Successful Fundraising for Project Linus; Kylie Wymer, $500, The Recycled Library.
  • David Gonzalez, a senior at Camanche (Iowa) High School, received the Iowa Bankers Association’s Student Athlete Achievement Scholarship Award.
  • Mengyu “Allen” Wang, of Bettendorf, has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship, the nation's premier undergraduate scholarship in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering. She is majoring in aerospace engineering, economics and mathematics at Iowa State University, Ames.

National Merit finalists

Two Rivermont Collegiate students and eight Pleasant Valley Community High School students have been named finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program competition. 

Pleasant Valley High School: Catherine Byrne of Bettendorf, Hannah Humes of Bettendorf, Samuel Lederman, Patrick McMonagle of Davenport, Mathew Nelson of Bettendorf, Margarita Rasgado Lopez of Bettendorf, Isaac Sears of Davenport, and Emily Suen of Bettendorf.

Rivermont Collegiate: Benjamin Nordick of Milan, and Emilia Porubcin of Coal Valley.

Performing arts

Ben Greiner, of Davenport, was cast in the Georges Feydeau play, "A Flea in Her Ear," at Rockford (Illinois) University. The play was directed by Rockford University professor of performing arts Deborah Mogford.

Shana Struble, of Aledo, Illinois, directed Tradition as part of the one-act play festival March 23-25 and March 30-April 1 at Harding University, Searcy, Arkansas. The festival featured nine one-act plays directed by eight students as part of a degree requirement for theater majors.