Subscribe for 17¢ / day

Extension Service salutes 4-H members

The University of Illinois Extension serving Henry, Mercer, Rock Island and Stark counties honored the achievements of five 4-H members from the unit during the 2016 Illinois 4-H Award Recognition event in Champaign.

Shelby Ledbetter of Rock Island received the Illinois 4-H LCP (leadership, citizenship, professionalism) Award, Legacy of Leadership Scholarship and State 4-H Award in communication.

Clare VanSpeybroeck of Rock Island received a State 4-H Award in leadership.

Brandi Welch of Aledo received an Illinois 4-H LCP Award and State 4-H Key Award.

Courtney Wiedenmann of Coal Valley received an Illinois 4-H LCP Award, Legacy of Leadership Scholarship, State 4-H Key Award and State 4-H Award in project mastery.

Kaley Rouse of Toulon received a State 4-H Award in community service.

Coe College awards scholarship

Ali Maggio of Durant, a student at Coe College, Cedar Rapids, was selected to receive a William E. Shrope Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year. She is the daughter of Calene Woodhouse and David Maggio and is a 2014 graduate of Durant High School. She is a junior studying international studies and religion  at Coe.

Shrope scholarships are given annually to Coe students of high academic standing ranging in amounts of $1,000 and higher. This year, nine students received scholarships through an endowed fund established through an estate gift from William E. Shrope. Shrope was a resident of Cedar County.

Mercer County 4-H honors service

Mercer County 4-H recognized its members for outstanding achievements and community service at its annual awards event. Leaders were also recognized for their dedication to the 4-H program.


  • 2016 IL 4-H Hall of Fame Inductee: Nellie Goderis.
  • 4-H Bright Futures: Nicholas Close.
  • 4-H Fair Booth Display: Hamlet Handy Helpers 4-H Club.
  • Club of the Year: Hamlet Handy Helpers 4-H Club, Joy Eliza Ag 4-H Club.
  • County Blue: Andrew Boruff, Kaelyn Boruff, Colby Cox, Kiersten Cox.
  • Emanuel Johnson Leadership: Anna Marolf.
  • IL 4-H EEC Electricity: Davin Shike.
  • Livestock Record Book: Davin Shike.
  • Marvin Kottman: Nicholas Close.
  • National 4-H Week Window Display: Country Kids 4-H Club.
  • Outstanding First Year Member: Eden Mueller, Davin Shike.
  • State Club: Joy Eliza Ag 4-H Club, Saddle Teens 4-H Club.
  • Standards of Excellence: Hamlet Handy Helpers 4-H Club, Joy Eliza Ag 4-H Club, Saddle Teens 4-H Club.
  • Top Records Club: Joy Eliza Ag 4-H Club.

Leaders recognized for 25 or more years of service

  • 25th Year, Emerald Clover Award: Tammy Bennett, Peppy Partners.
  • 26th Year: Rose Northcutt, Mercer County Dog Club.
  • 28th Year: Jayne Johnson and Julie Olson, Alexis All Stars.
  • 30th Year, Ruby Clover Award: Karen Dellitt, Peppy Partners.
  • 31st Year: Lorraine Kinsey, Mercer County Dog Club, 4-H Horse Committee, 4-H Fair Superintendent.
  • 43rd Year: Joyce Smith, Saddle Teens, 4-H BBQ Committee, Horse committee, Expansion and Review Committee and Mercer County 4-H Foundation.

The Goderis family (Duane, Nellie, Tim and Jace) was recognized for outstanding contributions to international understanding and world peace through the 4-H International Program.

Royal Neighbors awards scholarships

Ten students have received New Horizons scholarships through Royal Neighbors of America. The recipients get a non-renewable scholarship of up to $5,000 each year to pursue a degree at an accredited college or university.

The 2016 scholarship winners from the Quad-Cities are Jasmine Babers, Rock Island, Shelby Burroughs, Milan, Cassandra McGee, Bettendorf, and Allison Weis, Davenport.

Additional details about the scholarship program and eligibility are located at