BHS coaches receive honors

Bettendorf High School coaches Mike Ahrens, Katie Hansen and Chris Like have received awards for coaching excellence.

Hansen and Like were named Mississippi Athletic Conference Boys Golf Coaches of the Year for the 2017 season.

Both have been coaching golf at BHS for 10 years and their accomplishments include five trips to the state tournament, two MAC titles, and a record of 564 wins and 229 losses.

This is the third time the coaches have been recognized for the award.

Ahrens, the girl's swim coach, was selected by the Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union to receive the Golden Plaque award for distinguished coaching of swimming.

Ahrens is the sixth BHS swimming coach and has been a boy's and girl's swimcoach at BHS for 24 years.

As a girl's swimming coach, Ahrens has compiled a record of 201-12, has won 15 regional championships and four state titles.

Dean's list

The following students were named to the dean's list at Palmer College of Chiropractic, Davenport, for the spring semester:

Bettendorf: Marisa Baumann, Camille Berger, Emily Boyich, Raymond Flack, Jessi Janorschke, Dane Jaskowiak, Kassy Kirchner, Morgan Lintz, Xavier Lopez, Katherine Lucht, Joseph Nixon, Taylor Schultz, Lydia Simpson, Zachary Vander Weide, Joseph Viers

Gabrielle Stecker and John Stecker, both of Bettendorf, were named to the dean's list at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, for the spring semester.


Iowa State University

Ames, Iowa

Tyler Adams, Alexandra Cantrill, Taelar Hillyer (M.Ed)

Morningside College

Sioux City, Iowa

Michael Reinholdt (MA)

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Champaign, Illinois

Gabrielle Stecker (highest honors), Jacob Vossenkemper, Soham Waychal

President's list

Alecia Paget of LeClaire was named to the president's list at Clinton Community College for the summer semester.