Bettendorf Gold

The Bettendorf Gold football team includes, front row from left: Connor Mack, Ben Moore, Alexys Petersen, Carter Thayer, Ashton Westerfield, Tyge Lyon, Ronan Numkena, Nic Harvey. Middle Row: Dominick D’Aprile, Trevarius Carter, Luke Harbaugh. Back Row: Ben Ward, Jacob Willems, Caden Wilkens, Aiden Schaapveld, Tate Lyon, Ty Gardner, Eric Cary, Ben Kirkoff. Not Pictured: Isaac Foster, Matt Magistrelli, Abbi Patel. Coaches: Nate Numkena, Chris Wilkens, Mitch Harvey, Jarod Kirkoff.


Bettendorf Gold finished undefeated season

Bettendorf Gold, the Grade 5-6 football team of the Greater QC League, finished an undefeated season under the Lights at TouVelle Stadium.  The team faced Muscatine in a playoff game of two unbeatens, and Bettendorf Gold won, 38 to 8. The team completed its regular season defensively giving up only one touchdown during the season, while amassing 239 offensive points on the scoreboard.

Local Mediacom employee earns international recognition

Nathan Sidlinger of Bettendorf recently won the Bronze Award for rechnical skill performance at the International Cable-Tec Games at the SCTE-ISBE Cable-Tec Expo in Denver, Colorado. Competition categories included cable splicing, meter reading, cable Jeopardy, Optical Time Domain Reflectometer, fiber splicing, drop connection and Metallic Time Domain Reflectometer. Sidlinger began his work at Mediacom in 2013 as a broadband technician and was recently promoted to technical trainer in the Quad-Cities.

Local student performs in college choir concert

Student Lindsay Danielson of Bettendorf, recently performed in the fall Concert Choir concert, "Singing the Reformation: The Hymns of Luther and Praetorius," at Wheaton College. Danielson sang alto.


The following Bettendorf students recently received scholarships from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences at Iowa State University, Ames:

Samuel Frantz, Joseph Fleming Endowment; Jacqueline Klindt, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Dean’s Study Abroad Leadership Scholars Scholarship, Creger Brothers Farm Scholarship; Grant Nickles, Fejervary Trust Scholarship.