PRESTON, Iowa — Seven board members for the Easton Valley School District were elected during a special vote Tuesday in the first election for the new district.

In September, voters in the Preston and East Central school districts voted to merge the two and become Easton Valley.

Ten people were on the ballot Tuesday for the seven positions on the new board.

The winners are: Richard Keeney, 808 votes; Jodi Meyer, 692; Roger Kilburg, 670; Tom Feuerbach, 667; Ronald Regenwether, 632; Craig Thines, 615; and Lance Abernathy, 496.

The other candidates were Scott Bormann, 477; Henry Kramer, 345; and Sally Marvin, 430.

There were 903 people who went to the polls in all three communities, which is a 27.7 percent voter turnout. There were 47 absentee votes. Of those, 500 people went to the polls in Preston, 184 in Miles and 172 in Sabula.

The Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency will call the first meeting of the new school board sometime within the month.

The first order of business for the Easton Valley board will be hiring a superintendent, setting curriculum, deciding which grades will be located in which building and hiring teachers and staff. The district must be up and running by August 2013.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.