Former mayor Phil Yerington received 2,442 of the 2,551 write-in votes cast in the Davenport mayoral election, Scott County Auditor Roxanna Moritz reported Wednesday.

Yerington, who served as mayor from 1998 to 2002, got 23.4 percent of the vote, far less than Mayor Bill Gluba who received 65 percent of the vote to earn a fourth term. Former alderman Keith Meyer, who also was on the ballot collected 950 votes.

The remaining 109 write-in votes went to the usual suspects like Snoopy, Mickey Mouse and individual voters who wrote in their own names, according to the auditor's office.

Gluba, 71, is closing in on Mayor Arthur Kroppoch, who has the longest tenure as Davenport's mayor, serving from 1944-54.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

In 2007, Gluba won his first term with 62.3 percent of the vote, running against Yerington.

Yerington's vote total in Tuesday's election was similar to the 2003 mayoral race won by Charlie Brooke. In that election, Brooke won with 10,864 votes, but write-in candidate Bob Swanson received 2,359 votes, or 12.8 percent.