Joe Seng

State Sen. Joe Seng filed his candidacy papers for 2nd Congressional District with the Iowa Secretary of State’s office late Friday, setting up a Democratic primary fight with incumbent Rep. Dave Loebsack.

The race is the first since redistricting last year that put U.S. Rep. Bruce Braley and Loebsack into the 1st District.

Loebsack, in office since 2006, moved to the newly drawn 2nd District, which includes the Quad-Cities and Clinton, in order to avoid a primary contest with Braley.

The 2nd District does have a Republican primary between John Archer, Bettendorf, and Dan Dolan, Muscatine.

In responding to Seng’s candidacy, Brian Fritsch, political director of Loebsack for Congress, said that, “The number one issue for Iowans is the economy. Period. The last thing they want is more bickering and more politics.”

Fritsch said that as someone who grew up in poverty, and has traveled the state listening to the struggles of Iowa families, Loebsack will always fight for the middle class.

“He’s focused on solving problems, not more politics,” Fritsch said.

Seng, Davenport, could not be reached for comment Friday night.

The 46th Senate District has a Republican primary after redistricting threw two incumbents together. Jim Hahn, Muscatine, faces Shawn Hamerlinck, Dixon. On the Democratic side, Chris Brase, Muscatine, is unopposed.

Two Democrats are seeking the 49th State Senate District nomination for their party.

The district was drawn with a new legislative map and doesn’t have an incumbent.

Rita Hart, Wheatland will face off against Dorothy O’Brien, Clinton. On the Republican side, Andrew Naeve, Clinton, is unopposed.

None of the Iowa Quad-Cities’ state legislative seats involve primaries.

In the 89th District, incumbent Democrat Jim Lykam, Davenport, will face Davenport alderman Bill Edmond in the fall.

Republican incumbent state Rep. Ross Paustian, Walcott, will face former state senator Frank Wood, Eldridge, in the fall’s 92nd District race.

In the 93rd District, Phyllis Thede, Bettendorf, a Democrat, will face Republican Mark Nelson, Davenport, in the general election.

Incumbent Democrats Cindy Winckler (90th District) and Mary Wolfe (98th District) and Republican incumbents Linda Miller (94th District) and Steve Olson (97th District) are unopposed.