Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn will visit Moline at 1 p.m. today and has declared Rock Island, Henry, Jo Davies, Mercer and Whiteside counties as state disaster areas.

The Quad-City area counties are among 38 in Illinois named disaster areas, which makes the counties eligible for state assistance. This includes disaster recovery with items such as trucks, heavy equipment and work crews to speed debris removal.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

The governor will visit Harold's Landing Park, Moline, and join with local officials to survey flood damage along the Rock River.

The state disaster declaration comes after assessments by emergency officials and the governor and will begin the process of securing federal relief.