Mediacom cable TV, including customers in the Quad-Cities, has made changes in its channel lineup that will take effect today.

CBS affiliate WHBF will move to Channel 4 on cable. WQAD-8.3, which shows programming from the MyTV Network, will now be on Channel 3. Shop NBC moves to Channel 2 and C-SPAN moves to Channel 96.

In Maquoketa and Preston, Iowa, Cedar Rapids CBS affiliate KGAN will move to Channel 2.

“We don’t alter channel locations often, but we’re doing it now as we expand network capabilities by making these changes to realign and better utilize bandwidth,” Mediacom regional vice president Todd Curtis said in a news release. “One of the benefits is that our Mediacom lineup will be in sync with channel numbers used by local broadcast partners like WHBF and KGAN. But at the same time these changes will allow us to deliver more advanced products and Internet broadband speeds in excess of 100 mbps.”

The new channel assignments are reflected in today’s TV grid on Page B8.

Also, WHBF’s high-definition channel will now be 704. And for customers with a digital-tuned TV but not a cable box, WGN America moves to Channel 89.2.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Elsewhere on digital cable, Bloomberg News moves to Channel 256. An addition of QVC to HD status will be at Channel 714. And Comcast Sports Net Plus will be on the HD Family Cable plan at

Channel 733.

Mediacom customers with a direct cable connection to their digital television are encouraged to re-scan their TV sets after the network realignment is completed early today. Customers will not need to perform the re-scan function on TVs connected to Mediacom digital devices, either a digital cable set-top box or a digital adapter. The use of that equipment will automatically deliver the new channels and revised channel locations.

In the Quad-City area, Mediacom serves all of Scott County; Camanche, Charlotte, Clinton, DeWitt, Goose Lake and Low Moor in Clinton County; Maquoketa, Miles, Preston and Sabula in Jackson County; and Durant in Muscatine County. On the Illinois side, it serves all of Rock Island County, as well as Savanna and Thomson in Carroll County; Cleveland, Colona, Geneseo and Orion in Henry County; and Albany, Erie, Fulton, Lyndon, Morrison and Prophetstown in Whiteside County.

  • Angry 0
  • Sad 0
  • Funny 0
  • Wow 0
  • Love 0