Illinois Gov. Pat Quinn requested a presidential disaster declaration in 11 counties Thursday.

Rock Island County, which saw record-setting flooding along the Rock River and significant Mississippi River flooding, wasn't among them. But officials say they aren't finished assessing damage and requesting help.

"We're not done yet," said Patti Thompson, a spokeswoman for the Illinois Department of Emergency Management.

Rock Island County was one of four dozen counties that were declared state disaster areas. Thompson said officials are steadily working to assess damage, both at the individual and the government level, and that it did not want to hold off on those counties for which it had information. Mercer, Henry and Whiteside counties also were in the state declaration.

The 11 counties in Quinn's presidential request are mostly in and around the Chicago area. They are Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will counties.

Since late April, teams have documented damage for more than 3,500 homes.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

State officials said that in those counties, they found 41 homes destroyed,  761 with major damage and 2,715 homes with other kinds of damage. Eighty businesses also sustained damage in those counties.

If the request is approved, affected businesses will qualify for low-interest Small Business Administration loans.

  • Angry 0
  • Sad 0
  • Funny 0
  • Wow 0
  • Love 0