Scott County, along with four other eastern Iowa counties, have been declared disaster areas following recent storms.

Gov. Terry Branstad issued a proclamation Friday activating the Iowa Individual Assistance Program for Scott, Cedar, Johnson, Mahaska and Washington counties in the wake of recent storms and flooding. Beginning Wednesday, heavy rains, thunderstorms and flooding caused significant damage to private property.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,060, for a family of three.

Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available at the “Disaster Assistance” link on the Iowa Department of Human Services website: Applications must be received within 45 days.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

A copy of the proclamation of disaster emergency will be posted later Friday at

  • Angry 0
  • Sad 0
  • Funny 0
  • Wow 0
  • Love 0

I'm the city editor at the Quad-City Times. You can reach me at or 563-383-2450.