The job Lisa Bluder did in turning around the Iowa women's basketball team after its 1-6 start in the Big Ten did not go unnoticed.

Bluder, whose team dealt with season-ending injuries to three starters, was one of two recipients to win the Big Ten coach of the year after the Hawkeyes won nine of their final 11 conference games to earn a third-place tie in the conference race.

The Iowa coach was awarded the honor by a media panel, while coaches selected Wisconsin's Lisa Stone as the coach of the year among a number of postseason honors announced Monday.

Bluder, whose coaching career began at St. Ambrose in 1984, received the award for the third time in 11 seasons at Iowa. She was honored in 2001 and 2008.

Both the coaches and media selected Iowa's Jaime Printy as the Big Ten freshman of the year. The guard, who prepped at Linn-Mar, became the fifth Hawkeye to win the award after leading Big Ten freshmen with a scoring average of 15.8 points per game and an 83.6 percent touch at the free-throw line.

Printy was among three Hawkeyes to earn all-conference recognition.

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

Coaches named junior Kachine Alexander to the first team. One of three players in the Big Ten to average a double-double, Alexander led the conference with an average of 11.1 rebounds per game, and she was Iowa's second-leading scorer at 15.5 points per game.

Alexander was chosen to the all-defensive team by conference coaches.

Alexander and Printy earned second-team honors from the media, who named sophomore Kamille Wahlin to their third team. Coaches chose Printy and Wahlin as third-team all-conference choices.

Ohio State's Jantel Lavender earned player of the year honors from both groups, who also agreed on Illinois' Jenna Smith, Ohio State's Samantha Prahalis and Penn State's Tyra Grant as first-team choices.

  • Angry 0
  • Sad 0
  • Funny 0
  • Wow 0
  • Love 0