First impressions: Hawkeye offensive line

2014-02-12T11:45:00Z 2014-02-12T11:52:06Z First impressions: Hawkeye offensive lineSteve Batterson The Quad-City Times

One in a series of looks at the Iowa football program’s 2014 recruiting class, position by position:

The newcomers

Lucas LeGrand, 6-5, 260, Dubuque, Iowa (Senior HS)

Keegan Render, 6-4, 315, Indianola, Iowa

The details

LUCAS LeGRAND: A three-year letterwinner as an offensive and defensive lineman at Dubuque Senior, LeGrand committed to the Hawkeyes last April. At the time, his only other scholarship offer was from Northern Colorado. … He earned first-team all-state honors as a senior for the Rams while leading Senior to a spot in the Iowa Class 4A playoffs. … On defense, LeGrand recorded 63 tackles including 6.5 sacks and one interception as a senior. … He has also lettered in track, basketball and baseball at Dubuque Senior and he is currently a starter on the state’s top-ranked Class 4A boys basketball team. … LeGrand’s high school coach was Dale Ploessi.

KEEGAN RENDER: Was a first-team all-state selection at Indianola High School, where he has been honored as the program’s most valuable offensive lineman for the past four seasons. … Like LeGrand, he has been a four-year starter on the offensive and defensive lines for his prep program. He has been the starting right tackle at Indianola throughout his high school career. … Last fall, Render recorded 21 tackles, including 10 for a loss and one sack. He also recovered one fumble. … Has received three academic letters as a prep. … A three-year letterwinner in track, Render has also lettered in basketball and has played on the baseball team at Indianola, where he was coached by Eric Kluver.

The thoughts

Coach Kirk Ferentz on the Hawkeyes’ offensive line recruits:

“Both guys who are signed right now, we feel great about. We think Lucas is a really good football player and Keegan is someone we have been following for a couple of years. We think he’ll fit in well with that group. Hopefully, we’ll add another player when camp starts (current grayshirt recruit Ross Reynolds of Waukee, Iowa) and we’ll keep our fingers crossed there.’’

Returning depth

Starters: LT Brandon Scherff, C Austin Blythe, RG Jordan Walsh

Back-ups: LG Tommy Gaul, C Eric Simmons, RG Andrew Donnal, RT Ryan Ward

2013 signings

Colin Goebel, Sean Welsh

Copyright 2015 The Quad-City Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick

Latest scores and more from all sports

MLB:  News | Scoreboard NFL:  News | Scoreboard NBA:  News | Scoreboard
NHL:  News | Scoreboard NCAA FB:  News | Scoreboard NCAA BK:  News | Scoreboard
Golf:  News | Leaderboard Auto Racing:  News | Results Tennis:  News | Scoreboard
Other: MLS  |  Womens NCAA BK  |  WNBA  |  CFL  |  Minor League Baseball  |  NFL Draft  |  NBA Draft

Follow Hawkmania.com

Football schedule

2015 Hawkeyes (0-0)

Date Opponent Time/result
9/5/2015 Illinois State 11 a.m.
9/12/2015 at Iowa State 3:30 p.m.
9/19/2015 Pittsburgh 7 p.m.
9/26/2015 North Texas TBA
10/3/2015 at Wisconsin TBA
10/10/2015 Illinois 11 a.m.
10/17/2015 at Northwestern 11 a.m.
10/31/2015 Maryland TBA
11/7/2015 at Indiana TBA
11/14/2015 Minnesota 7 p.m.
11/21/2015 Purdue TBA
11/27/2015 at Nebraska TBA

Past schedules

2014 Hawkeyes (7-6)

Date Opponent Time/result
8/30/2014 Northern Iowa W 31-23
9/6/2014 Ball State W 17-13
9/13/2014 Iowa State L 20-17
9/20/2014 at Pittsburgh W 24-20
9/27/2014 at Purdue W 24-10
10/11/2014 Indiana W 45-29
10/18/2014 at Maryland L 38-31
11/1/2014 Northwestern W 48-7
11/8/2014 at Minnesota L 51-14
11/15/2014 at Illinois W 30-14
11/22/2014 Wisconsin  L 26-24
11/28/2014 Nebraska L 37-34
1/2/2015 Tennessee L 45-28


Trophy case: Empty

Hawkeyes bowl history

1957 Rose   Oregon State W 35-19
1959 Rose   California W 38-12
1982 Rose   Washington L 28-0
1982 Peach   Tennessee W 28-22
1983 Gator   Florida L 14-6
1984 Freedom   Texas W 55-17
1986 Rose   UCLA L 45-28
1986 Holiday   SDSU W 39-38
1987 Holiday   Wyoming W 20-19
1988 Peach   NC State L 28-23
1991 Rose   Washington L 46-34
1991 Holiday   BYU T 13-13
1993 Alamo   California L 37-3
1995 Sun   Washington W 38-18
1996 Alamo   Texas Tech W 27-0
1997 Sun   Arizona State L 17-7
2001 Alamo   Texas Tech W 19-16
2003 Orange   USC L 38-17
2004 Outback   Florida W 37-17
2005 Capital One LSU W 30-25
2006 Outback   Florida L 31-24
2006 Alamo   Texas L 26-24
2009 Outback   South Carolina W 31-10
2010 Orange   Georgia Tech W 24-14
2010 Insight   Missouri W 27-24
2011 Insight   Oklahoma L 31-14
2014 Outback   LSU L 21-14
2015 TaxSlayer   Tennessee L 45-28