Hawkeyes edge reeling Northwestern in OT

2013-10-26T17:00:00Z 2013-10-27T08:59:07Z Hawkeyes edge reeling Northwestern in OTSteve Batterson The Quad-City Times

IOWA CITY — The blitz was on, but so was Iowa rookie quarterback Jake Rudock.

With Northwestern safety Ibraheim Campbell in his face and linebacker Chi Chi Ariguzo closing in quickly, the Hawkeye sophomore delivered an 8-yard strike to C.J. Fiedorowicz in overtime to lead Iowa to a 17-10 victory Saturday at Kinnick Stadium.

“I had to get rid of it and I knew he wasn’t quite where he needed to be yet, so I threw the ball a little high to give him time to get there,’’ Rudock said. “He’s a tall guy. I knew he had a shot at it.’’

Fiedorowicz didn’t disappoint, scoring the Hawkeyes’ first touchdown since the opening drive of the game to end a two-game losing streak and position Iowa one win away from becoming bowl eligible.

“Everything was riding on it, and I knew Jake would put the ball where it needed to be. That’s who he is and what he does,’’ Fiedorowicz said. “I just had to go up and make a play.’’

The 6-foot-7 tight end held up his end of the deal on the third-and-seven snap.

“Nice pitch, nice catch and we didn’t have an answer,’’ Northwestern coach Pat Fitzgerald said.

Iowa’s defense, which forced a game-changing fumble late in regulation, didn’t give the Wildcats a chance to answer.

Drew Ott dropped Northwestern quarterback Kain Colter for a 1-yard loss on the Wildcats’ first play in overtime and after Colter scrambled for a three-yard gain on second down, Desmond King broke up a third-down pass before Louis Trinca-Pasat handed Northwestern its fourth straight Big Ten loss.

Knocked down in his first attempt to get to Colter, the Hawkeye defensive tackle recovered and chased him down again. Trinca-Pasat dropped him for a 1-yard loss that ended the game and brought a sea of Hawkeyes onto the field to celebrate.

“You’d always like to win in regulation, but after losing a couple of games, this was one we had to have,’’ linebacker Anthony Hitchens said. “We had to keep fighting, whatever it took. There was no quit in this team.’’

Colter, who rushed for 166 yards a year ago against Iowa, ran for 60 yards but flustered Iowa with 11-of-14 passing for 104 yards to fuel the Wildcats’ rally.

“He’s always been a hard guy for us to get to, and that didn’t change,’’ linebacker Christian Kirksey said. “We got to him enough, though, put a little pressure on him and made him work, to give ourselves a chance.’’

Northwestern overcame a 10-0 halftime deficit, using a 10-yard touchdown pass from Colter to Dan Vitale and a 29-yard Jeff Budzien field goal to tie the game with 9 minutes, 9 seconds left in regulation.

The teams went to overtime after Iowa’s Mike Meyer missed a 42-yard field goal try into a biting north wind with 4:58 remaining in the fourth quarter and Northwestern then became its own worst enemy.

The Wildcats (4-4, 0-4 Big Ten) had marched 55 yards on four plays before Vitale was called for an illegal block while trailing a play that saw Colter gain nine yards on a carry to the Iowa 21-yard line.

The 15-yard penalty backed the Wildcats up to the 45 and on the next snap, Mike Trumpy fumbled and King recovered at midfield to give Iowa the ball with 3:14 remaining.

“We did a good job getting ourselves back into the game, but the two plays at the end of the game were inexcusable, the penalty and the fumble,’’ Fitzgerald said. “… We’re beating ourselves and we’re not good enough to do that.’’

Unable to score themselves since a 38-yard field goal by Meyer with 9:56 left in the first half, the Hawkeyes (5-3, 2-2) moved to the 35 before Rudock was picked off by Ariguzo with 7 seconds left in regulation.

“It was a tough day to get much going, and they had a lot to do with that,’’ said Rudock, who completed 19-of-27 passes for 169 yards. “We found a way to get the win, got it done and that’s the big thing. When you find yourself in a game like this, you have to keep plugging away, believing that something good will happen.’’

Eventually, Rudock and Fiedorowicz turned that into reality.

“They brought the house, but Jake did a great job of waiting until the last second and having the faith that C.J. would be in the right spot,’’ Iowa coach Kirk Ferentz said. “C.J. is tough to defend down there in a tight area. It’s the kind of play you have to make at some point if you’re going to win conference games and for us, that play came at a great time certainly.’’

Copyright 2015 The Quad-City Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick


Football schedule

2015 Hawkeyes (0-0)

Date Opponent Time/result
9/5/2015 Illinois State TBA
9/12/2015 at Iowa State TBA
9/19/2015 Pittsburgh 7 p.m.
9/26/2015 North Texas TBA
10/3/2015 at Wisconsin TBA
10/10/2015 Illinois TBA
10/17/2015 at Northwestern TBA
10/31/2015 Maryland TBA
11/7/2015 at Indiana TBA
11/14/2015 Minnesota 7 p.m.
11/21/2015 Purdue TBA
11/27/2015 at Nebraska TBA

Past schedules

2014 Hawkeyes (7-6)

Date Opponent Time/result
8/30/2014 Northern Iowa W 31-23
9/6/2014 Ball State W 17-13
9/13/2014 Iowa State L 20-17
9/20/2014 at Pittsburgh W 24-20
9/27/2014 at Purdue W 24-10
10/11/2014 Indiana W 45-29
10/18/2014 at Maryland L 38-31
11/1/2014 Northwestern W 48-7
11/8/2014 at Minnesota L 51-14
11/15/2014 at Illinois W 30-14
11/22/2014 Wisconsin  L 26-24
11/28/2014 Nebraska L 37-34
1/2/2015 Tennessee L 45-28


Trophy case: Empty

Hawkeyes bowl history

1957 Rose   Oregon State W 35-19
1959 Rose   California W 38-12
1982 Rose   Washington L 28-0
1982 Peach   Tennessee W 28-22
1983 Gator   Florida L 14-6
1984 Freedom   Texas W 55-17
1986 Rose   UCLA L 45-28
1986 Holiday   SDSU W 39-38
1987 Holiday   Wyoming W 20-19
1988 Peach   NC State L 28-23
1991 Rose   Washington L 46-34
1991 Holiday   BYU T 13-13
1993 Alamo   California L 37-3
1995 Sun   Washington W 38-18
1996 Alamo   Texas Tech W 27-0
1997 Sun   Arizona State L 17-7
2001 Alamo   Texas Tech W 19-16
2003 Orange   USC L 38-17
2004 Outback   Florida W 37-17
2005 Capital One LSU W 30-25
2006 Outback   Florida L 31-24
2006 Alamo   Texas L 26-24
2009 Outback   South Carolina W 31-10
2010 Orange   Georgia Tech W 24-14
2010 Insight   Missouri W 27-24
2011 Insight   Oklahoma L 31-14
2014 Outback   LSU L 21-14
2015 TaxSlayer   Tennessee L 45-28