College football

Hawkeyes hope to fill up trophy case

2012-09-04T17:46:00Z 2012-12-29T06:52:20Z Hawkeyes hope to fill up trophy caseSteve Batterson The Quad-City Times
September 04, 2012 5:46 pm  • 

IOWA CITY — In the middle of the Iowa football locker room sits a big, cumbersome trophy case — a big, cumbersome and empty trophy case.

It serves as a daily reminder of prizes that once belonged to the Hawkeyes that now reside elsewhere, providing daily motivation to this Iowa team.

“It’s hard to miss,” cornerback Micah Hyde said. “You almost trip over it when you try to go anywhere, and it’s empty, real empty.”

Iowa owns none of the four traveling trophies it plays for against some of its closest rivals.

Iowa State’s 44-41 triple-overtime victory over Iowa last year at September gave ISU possession of the temporary version of the Cy-Hawk Trophy for the first time since 2007.

Later in the season, Minnesota retained Floyd of Rosedale with its second straight win over Iowa, and Nebraska won the first Heroes Game Trophy.

Wisconsin has held the Heartland Trophy since it defeated Iowa 31-30 in the most recent meeting between the teams in 2010.

“We’ve let all them get away the past few years, and now it’s time to bring them home. That starts this week,” linebacker Anthony Hitchens said.

The empty trophy case was hauled into the middle of the locker room as the Hawkeyes worked through offseason training.

Hyde suspects it was the work of strength and conditioning coach Chris Doyle, motivation to put in the work during the off-season that it takes to succeed in the fall.

It has sat there since and this week, photos of Iowa State players carting the trophy — or what was left of the makeshift trophy that was hurriedly put together after fans loudly rejected a Cy-Hawk remake — are plastered on the walls as the Hawkeyes head to their locker room.

“Seeing all that stuff, the trophy case, the pictures and the posters with Cyclone State all over them, it brings you back to last year and how we didn’t do the things we needed to do to win,” quarterback James Vandenberg said.

“This is our first chance to win a trophy back, and we’re looking forward to it. That’s our focus this week.”

Coach Kirk Ferentz said at his weekly news conference that focus also remains on improvement following a late-game rally which allowed Iowa to escape with an 18-17 win over Northern Illinois on Saturday.

“A lot of our mistakes last week are correctable, which is a good thing, and this week, we’re working to correct them,” Ferentz said.

The chance to do that against an in-state rival which won an emotional, hard-fought game against Iowa last season is an added benefit.

“It’s important for us to move forward this week. We’re playing a game that we’ll hear about all year,” defensive end Dominic Alvis said. “Last year’s loss, that was tough, and the two-hour bus ride home gave us plenty of time to think about it.”

That has helped keep the sting of last year’s loss fresh in the minds of the Hawkeyes.

“The game last year, we didn’t perform like we needed to,” center James Ferentz said. “As the game went on they got stronger, we didn’t respond, and they got the win. We’ve had to live with that since, and that trophy case, it’s there to remind us of that.”

Iowa items

* Coach Kirk Ferentz said Iowa came through its season opener relatively injury free. Cornerback B.J. Lowery, who left the game with an injury, is expected to be available this weekend.

* Iowa will wear throwback uniforms Saturday to honor undefeated teams which went 7-0 in the 1921 and 1922 seasons. It marks the third time the Hawkeyes have recognized teams from the past with throwback uniforms. The 1958 Big Ten championship team and the 1939 Ironmen were previously honored in similar fashion.

* Ferentz was pleased with the 150 rushing yards gained by Damon Bullock, but said Iowa will work to put the ball in the hands of freshmen Greg Garmon and Mike Malloy.

“We need to get other backs involved,” Ferentz said.

* It is likely that Iowa will continue to use John Wienke in short-yardage punting situations and allow freshman Connor Kornbrath to have opportunities with more yards to work with. Ferentz believes that is allowing Kornbrath to ease his way into the college game.

* Ferentz offered condolences to the family of former Hawkeye halfback Eddie Vincent, who died Friday in Inglewood, Calif., at the age of 78.

* Saturday’s game is sold out. It will be televised by the Big Ten Network, which has included former Hawkeye Chuck Long in its crew of announcers for the game.

Copyright 2015 The Quad-City Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick


Football schedule

2014 Hawkeyes (7-6)

Date Opponent Time/result
8/30/2014 Northern Iowa W 31-23
9/6/2014 Ball State W 17-13
9/13/2014 Iowa State L 20-17
9/20/2014 at Pittsburgh W 24-20
9/27/2014 at Purdue W 24-10
10/11/2014 Indiana W 45-29
10/18/2014 at Maryland L 38-31
11/1/2014 Northwestern W 48-7
11/8/2014 at Minnesota L 51-14
11/15/2014 at Illinois W 30-14
11/22/2014 Wisconsin  L 26-24
11/28/2014 Nebraska L 37-34
1/2/2015 Tennessee L 45-28

Future schedules

2015 Hawkeyes (0-0)

Date Opponent Time/result
9/5/2015 Illinois State TBA
9/12/2015 at Iowa State TBA
9/19/2015 Pittsburgh TBA
9/26/2015 North Texas TBA
10/3/2015 at Wisconsin TBA
10/10/2015 Illinois TBA
10/17/2015 at Northwestern TBA
10/31/2015 Maryland TBA
11/7/2015 at Indiana TBA
11/14/2015 Minnesota TBA
11/21/2015 Purdue TBA
11/27/2015 at Nebraska TBA


Trophy case: Empty

Hawkeyes bowl history

1957 Rose   Oregon State W 35-19
1959 Rose   California W 38-12
1982 Rose   Washington L 28-0
1982 Peach   Tennessee W 28-22
1983 Gator   Florida L 14-6
1984 Freedom   Texas W 55-17
1986 Rose   UCLA L 45-28
1986 Holiday   SDSU W 39-38
1987 Holiday   Wyoming W 20-19
1988 Peach   NC State L 28-23
1991 Rose   Washington L 46-34
1991 Holiday   BYU T 13-13
1993 Alamo   California L 37-3
1995 Sun   Washington W 38-18
1996 Alamo   Texas Tech W 27-0
1997 Sun   Arizona State L 17-7
2001 Alamo   Texas Tech W 19-16
2003 Orange   USC L 38-17
2004 Outback   Florida W 37-17
2005 Capital One LSU W 30-25
2006 Outback   Florida L 31-24
2006 Alamo   Texas L 26-24
2009 Outback   South Carolina W 31-10
2010 Orange   Georgia Tech W 24-14
2010 Insight   Missouri W 27-24
2011 Insight   Oklahoma L 31-14
2014 Outback   LSU L 21-14
2015 TaxSlayer   Tennessee L 45-28