Nine legendary Iowa football players will be honored beginning this season with the unveiling of the Kinnick Stadium Wall of Honor, a space on the field side of the press box where the names and jersey numbers of those individuals will be displayed.

Aubrey Devine (1), Randy Duncan (25), Calvin Jones (62), Alex Karras (77), Nile Kinnick (24), Gordon Locke (1), Chuck Long (16), Duke Slater (15) and Larry Station (36) will be the initial players honored and the three living members of the group -- Duncan, Long and Station -- will be recognized on the field prior to the start of Iowa's Aug. 31 season opener against Northern Illinois.

Sign up for the Hawkmania Newsletter

Get our comprehensive Hawkeyes coverage delivered to your inbox

The nine players selected meet at least one of three criteria established by the University of Iowa Athletics Department for consideration. Each has been selected to the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame or the now-inactive Helms Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame, was named to one of those hall fames and was a one-time consensus all-American or as a player was a two-time consensus all-American.