Summer camp: Nebraska

2013-06-10T11:53:00Z 2013-06-10T17:47:18Z Summer camp: NebraskaSteve Batterson The Quad-City Times
June 10, 2013 11:53 am  • 

This is the seventh installment of a daily series updating the status of Big Ten football teams. See all of the reports at

2012 rewind

Record: 10-4, 7-1 Big Ten (first in the Legends Division, lost in the Big Ten title game)

Stat leaders: Rushing, Ameer Abdullah, 1,137 yards; Passing, Taylor Martinez, 2,871 yards; Receiving, Kenny Bell, 863 yards; Tackles, Will Compton, 110; Sacks, Eric Martin, 8.5; Interceptions, Daimion Stafford, 4

Spring forward

Starters returning: Offense 7, Defense 5, Specialists 0

Top returners: QB Taylor Martinez, RB Ameer Abdullah, WR Kenny Bell, WR Jamal Turner, OL Spencer Long, OL Jeremiah Sirles, DB Ciante Evans, DE Jason Ankrah

Key losses: RB Rex Burkhead, TE Kyler Reed, LB Will Compton, DE Cameron Meredith, DE Eric Martin, DT Baker Steinkuhler, P/K Brett Maher

Four-down territory

  • Defense is where the majority of the questions remain for Nebraska as it begins summer work in preparation for the start of fall camp in August. The Cornhuskers lost three starters on the defensive line, where end Jason Ankrah was the only returning starter on the field this spring. Tackle Thad Randle is expected back from injury in the fall and Nebraska is hopeful that junior-college transfer Randy Gregory will provide part of the solution.
  • A solid spring by David Santos has answered some of the questions Nebraska has at linebacker. He’ll begin the fall at the top of the depth chart at middle linebacker, but has the quickness to move outside if other players emerge during fall camp.
  • Taylor Martinez leads a veteran offense and that features veteran experience in recievers Kenny Bell, Quincy Enunwa and Jamal Turner. Returning running back Ameer Abdullah complements the running ability of Martinez and Imani Cross benefitted from additional work at running back this spring as Abdullah missed time because of a knee injury.
  • One of the Cornhuskers’ biggest challenges beyond defense will be replacing the leg of Brett Maher, who handled kicking and punting duties. Mauro Bondi appears to be the frontrunner to replace the kicking duties Maher filled, but the punting role remains undetermined as summer work begins.

First thoughts

Opener: Aug. 31, vs. Wyoming

Copyright 2015 The Quad-City Times. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick


Football schedule

2014 Hawkeyes (7-6)

Date Opponent Time/result
8/30/2014 Northern Iowa W 31-23
9/6/2014 Ball State W 17-13
9/13/2014 Iowa State L 20-17
9/20/2014 at Pittsburgh W 24-20
9/27/2014 at Purdue W 24-10
10/11/2014 Indiana W 45-29
10/18/2014 at Maryland L 38-31
11/1/2014 Northwestern W 48-7
11/8/2014 at Minnesota L 51-14
11/15/2014 at Illinois W 30-14
11/22/2014 Wisconsin  L 26-24
11/28/2014 Nebraska L 37-34
1/2/2015 Tennessee L 45-28

Future schedules

2015 Hawkeyes (0-0)

Date Opponent Time/result
9/5/2015 Illinois State TBA
9/12/2015 at Iowa State TBA
9/19/2015 Pittsburgh TBA
9/26/2015 North Texas TBA
10/3/2015 at Wisconsin TBA
10/10/2015 Illinois TBA
10/17/2015 at Northwestern TBA
10/31/2015 Maryland TBA
11/7/2015 at Indiana TBA
11/14/2015 Minnesota TBA
11/21/2015 Purdue TBA
11/27/2015 at Nebraska TBA


Trophy case: Empty

Hawkeyes bowl history

1957 Rose   Oregon State W 35-19
1959 Rose   California W 38-12
1982 Rose   Washington L 28-0
1982 Peach   Tennessee W 28-22
1983 Gator   Florida L 14-6
1984 Freedom   Texas W 55-17
1986 Rose   UCLA L 45-28
1986 Holiday   SDSU W 39-38
1987 Holiday   Wyoming W 20-19
1988 Peach   NC State L 28-23
1991 Rose   Washington L 46-34
1991 Holiday   BYU T 13-13
1993 Alamo   California L 37-3
1995 Sun   Washington W 38-18
1996 Alamo   Texas Tech W 27-0
1997 Sun   Arizona State L 17-7
2001 Alamo   Texas Tech W 19-16
2003 Orange   USC L 38-17
2004 Outback   Florida W 37-17
2005 Capital One LSU W 30-25
2006 Outback   Florida L 31-24
2006 Alamo   Texas L 26-24
2009 Outback   South Carolina W 31-10
2010 Orange   Georgia Tech W 24-14
2010 Insight   Missouri W 27-24
2011 Insight   Oklahoma L 31-14
2014 Outback   LSU L 21-14
2015 TaxSlayer   Tennessee L 45-28