Davenport vs. Harlan 3A State Championship

Assumption catcher Tavien Gillette tags out Brett Sears of Harlan in the Class 3A state championship game. Gillette was named to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association Super Team on Monday.

Arian Schuessler, Lee News Service

Davenport Assumption's baseball team cruised through the Mississippi Athletic Conference schedule and the Class 3A postseason this summer.

Its domination carried over to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association's all-state teams released Monday.

Pitcher Trenton Wallace, catcher Tavien Gillette and pitcher/outfielder Ben Beutel represented the Knights on the Super Team, the top 16 players in the state regardless of classification.

Assumption became the first school to win 10 summer state baseball titles after outscoring opponents 62-6 in six postseason games. Class 1A champion Mason City Newman and Class 4A state runner-up Dowling Catholic were the only other schools to have multiple players on the Super Team.

Wallace, named the 3A captain, was 11-0 with a Class 3A-best 0.29 ERA in 72 innings. The Iowa signee struck out 112 hitters, including 13 in the Knights' state championship rout over Harlan.

Gillette, headed to play at Des Moines Area Community College, batted .344 with a team-high 14 doubles and 32 RBIs. He was second on the team with nine sacrifices.

Beutel, a Bowling Green recruit, made the Super team at utility. He was 8-0 with a 0.64 ERA on the mound along with hitting .370 and driving in 32 runs.

Wilton's Evan Reifert joined those three on the Super Team. Reifert, selected as the top player in 2A, batted .454 with 14 doubles, 9 home runs and 34 RBIs.

Among the first-team all-state selections in each class were Davenport West's Trevor Burkhart (shortstop) and Logan Gluba (outfield) in 4A; Assumption's Daniel Powers (utility) in 3A; Wilton's Collin McCrabb (pitcher) in 2A and Durant's Leo Callison (second base) in 1A.


IHSBCA All-State teams

Super team

Pitchers — Jack Dreyer, sr., Johnston; Trenton Wallace, sr., Davenport Assumption; Ben Probst, sr., Dowling Catholic

Catchers — Tavien Gillette, sr., Davenport Assumption; Calvin Harris, fr., Western Dubuque

First base — Devin Porter, sr., Saydel

Second base — T.J. Mahoney, jr., Des Moines Lincoln

Shortstop — Dillon Sears, sr., Harlan

Third base — Evan Reifert, sr., Wilton

Outfield — Levi Usher, jr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Bret Barnett, sr., Martensdale-St. Marys; Robbie McCarger, sr., Dowling Catholic; Peyton Scott, sr., Mason City Newman

Utility — Austin Savary, sr., Dubuque Wahlert; Ben Beutel, sr., Davenport Assumption; Ben Fitzgerald, sr., Mason City Newman

Player of year: Dreyer (Johnston)

Class 4A

First team

Pitchers — Nathan Buckallew, sr., Johnston; Colin Lacey, sr., Dowling Catholic; Cameron Cowan, sr., Ankeny Centennial

Catchers — Matt Berst, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Derek Hackman, sr., Johnston

First base — Hunter Dingman, sr., Mason City

Second base — Brady Bunten, jr., Cedar Rapids Washington

Shortstop — Trevor Burkhart, jr., Davenport West

Third base — Izaya Ono-Fullard, sr., Iowa City West

Outfield — Connor McCaffery, sr., Iowa City West; Dylan Voves, sr., Mason City; Logan Gluba, so., Davenport West; Max Steffen, sr., Western Dubuque

Utility — Blake Elam, sr., Council Bluffs Abe Lincoln; Brendan Sher, jr., Indianola; Peyton Williams, so., Johnston

Second team (locals only)

Outfield — Josh Stivers, sr., Pleasant Valley

Class 3A

First team

Pitchers — Nathan Struve, sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; TJ Heineman, sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Nic McCay, jr., Carlisle

Catchers — Will Edwards, sr., Vinton-Shellsburg; Jaden Rolffs, jr., Pella

First base — Cael Lambe, sr., Union LaPorte City

Second base — Colin Kasperbauer, jr., Sioux City Heelan

Shortstop — Luke Ira, jr., Solon

Third base — Grant Goche, jr., Algona

Outfield — Keaton Candor, sr., LeMars; Matt Nelson, sr., Sioux City Heelan; Tanner Bedier, jr., Bondurant-Farrar; Ryley McGregor, sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton

Utility — Cameron Baumann, sr., Fairfield; Daniel Powers, sr., Davenport Assumption; Tyler Hillman, sr., Pella

Second team (locals only)

Outfield — Justus Burke, sr., Davenport Assumption

Class 2A

First team

Pitchers — Ryne Schooley, jr., Iowa City Regina; Collin McCrabb, so., Wilton; Connor McDermott, jr., Dyersville Beckman

Catchers — Jacob Manternach, jr., Monticello; Jordan Wendel, sr., Alta-Aurelia

First base — Noah Hopp, sr., New Hampton

Second base — Evan Olesen, jr., Estherville-Lincoln Central

Shortstop — Brett Daley, sr., Treynor

Third base — Matt Rhodes, sr., Woodward-Granger

Outfield — Bryce Simon, sr., Cascade; Izak Baumhover, jr., Carroll Kuemper; Blake Berns, jr., Iowa City Regina; Carter Paterson, sr., Des Moines Christian

Utility — Jackson Bennett, jr., Dyersville Beckman; Tyler Laing, sr., Carroll Kuemper; Spencer Hanson, sr., Woodward-Granger

Second team (area only)

Outfield — Jared Townsend, so., Wilton; Trace Howard, jr., Wapello

Class 1A

First team

Pitchers — Jake Hilmer, so., North Linn; Jacob Wesselmann, sr., Remsen St. Mary's; Caden Kratz, jr., Mason City Newman

Catchers — Clay Emhoff, sr., West Fork; RJ Staab, sr., Remsen St. Mary's

First base — Brady Gavin, jr., Martensdale-St. Marys

Second base — Leo Callison, sr., Durant

Shortstop — Garret Reisz, jr., Council Bluffs St. Albert

Third base — Evan Paulus, so., Mason City Newman

Outfield — Aaron Allard, sr., Akron-Westfield; Ryan Miller, jr., North Linn; Carter Kuchel, jr., Remsen St. Mary's; Brandon Riley, sr., Coon Rapids-Bayard

Utility — Cameron Hoeg, sr., North Tama; Trace Embray, sr., Twin Cedars; Trevor Brown, jr., Don Bosco

Second team (area only)

First base — Brett Kelting, sr., Calamus-Wheatland