Assumption senior Trenton Wallace was selected as the Mississippi Athletic Conference's player of the year for the second straight season Monday.

For the second consecutive season, Davenport Assumption's Trenton Wallace is the Mississippi Athletic Conference's player of the year in baseball.

Wallace, an Iowa recruit, is 9-0 on the mound with a 0.34 ERA and 92 strikeouts in 62 innings of work. At the plate, he's batting .411 with 14 extra-base hits and 30 RBIs for the league champion Knights, who open the Class 3A state tournament at 11 a.m. Tuesday against Bondurant-Farrar.

The southpaw is joined on the first team by teammates Ben Beutel (pitcher) and Luke Fennelly (utility). Beutel has a 7-0 mark with 0.73 ERA while Fennelly leads Assumption with a .455 average and league-best 38 RBIs.

North Scott also had three first-team selections in Jared Rus (second base), Adam Sacia (outfield) and Brooks Sunny (utility).

Bettendorf's Carter Bell (pitcher) and Kamrin Arons (first base) made the first team as did Pleasant Valley's Nick Acri (third base) and Josh Stivers (outfield).

There were four teams to have one first-team representative -- Davenport West's Trevor Burkhart (shortstop), Davenport Central's Bobby Magnus (outfield), Davenport North's Caleb Farnsworth (outfield) and Burlington's Nick Hagen (catcher).

Like Wallace, Burkhart and Magnus are repeat first-team selections.

Assumption's Billy Argo, who recently eclipsed 500 wins, was voted as the MAC's coach of the year for the second straight season.


All-MAC teams

First team

Pitchers -- Trenton Wallace, sr., Assumption; Ben Beutel, sr., Assumption; Carter Bell, so., Bettendorf

Catcher -- Nick Hagen, sr., Burlington

First base -- Kamrin Arons, sr., Bettendorf

Second base -- Jared Rus, jr., North Scott

Shortstop -- Trevor Burkhart, jr., Davenport West

Third base -- Nick Acri, sr., Pleasant Valley

Outfield -- Caleb Farnsworth, sr., Davenport North; Josh Stivers, sr., Pleasant Valley; Bobby Magnus, sr., Davenport Central; Adam Sacia, sr., North Scott

Utility -- Brooks Sunny, jr., North Scott; Luke Fennelly, sr., Assumption

Second team

Pitchers -- Nathan Holliday, sr., Muscatine; Daniel Powers, jr., Assumption; Clayton Nettleton, jr., Davenport West

Catchers -- Tavien Gillette, sr., Assumption; Tony Barreca, jr., North Scott

First base -- Nolan Melchert, sr., Assumption

Second base -- Adin DeLaRosa, so., Davenport Central

Shortstop -- Johnny Sullivan, sr., Clinton

Third base -- Makai Hart, sr., Clinton

Outfield -- Justin Hutter, sr., Bettendorf; Logan Gluba, so., Davenport West; Evan Crawford, jr., Pleasant Valley; Justus Burke, sr., Assumption

Utility -- Kyle Cunningham, sr., Clinton; Max Slavens, so., Pleasant Valley; Will Kranz, so., Davenport Central

Honorable mention

Assumption -- Donaven Juarez; Peyton Berthel; Nick Gottilla

Bettendorf -- Andy Whiteman; Tyler Ciha; Steven Ciha

Burlington -- Drake Hohenthaner; Tyler Conner; Everett Willson

Clinton -- Ty Wenzel; Gage Harris; Jared Simpson

Davenport Central -- Connor Hayes; Keith Inghram; Andrew Hegland

Davenport North -- Bryan Verdon; Jared Beck; Tyler Josund

Davenport West -- Braydon Dobereiner; Ryan McKown; Colton Jones

Muscatine -- Gavyn Ashley; Joe Morrison; Jake Mussehl

North Scott -- Sam Stonskas; Ben Steidler; Allen Vis

Pleasant Valley -- Erik Israel; Bradley Melvin; Cam Peer

Player of year -- Wallace (Assumption)

Coach of year -- Billy Argo (Assumption)


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.