DES MOINES — Joe Wieskamp was the Mississippi Athletic Conference’s player of the year and the state’s leading scorer this season.

The Muscatine junior can add three-time all-stater to his resume.

The 6-foot-6 Iowa recruit, who averaged 30.4 points and 10.2 rebounds per game this winter, was selected to the Iowa Newspaper Association’s Class 4A first team for a second consecutive year in voting by sportswriters across the state.

Wieskamp, ranked among the nation’s top 50 players by multiple publications in the 2018 class, had four games of 40 points or more this season for the 15-win Muskies.

A third-team choice as a freshman, Wieskamp also shot better than 55 percent from the field and was among the 4A leaders in 3-pointers with 62.

There were six players from the Quad-Cities area named to a second team.

Davenport Central’s Ray Miller and North Scott’s Bailey Basala were second-team choices in 4A. Miller averaged 19 points and 6.2 rebounds per game for the Blue Devils. Basala, an Air Force Academy prospect, registered 17.7 points per contest and made 63 3s for the Lancers.

Camanche, which finished fourth at the Class 2A state tournament, had a pair of second-team selections in senior post Dylan Hundley and senior wing Dakota Soenksen.

Hundley was just one of five players in 2A to average a double-double this season at 15.8 points and 10.8 rebounds per game. Soenksen led his classification in made 3-pointers with 87 and was the Indians’ top scorer at 17.6 points per game.

Wapello’s Trenton Massner also made the second team in 2A. The junior averaged 22.9 points per game (sixth best in his class), 5.3 rebounds and 5.2 assists per game. Massner broke Wapello’s single game (38 points) and single-season (527 points) scoring marks.

Clinton Prince of Peace senior Seth Moeller was second team in 1A. Moeller recorded 21 points and nearly 4.5 rebounds per game for the Irish, who won the Tri-Rivers East Division and reached the district final.

Among the area third-team selections were Davenport Assumption’s Trenton Wallace in 3A and Calamus-Wheatland’s Brett Kelting in 1A.

Wallace, an Iowa baseball recruit, was the Knights’ leading scorer at 14.1 points per game. Kelting, a 6-3 senior, paced an 18-win Warriors squad at 16.7 points and 9 rebounds per contest.

Gladbrook-Reinbeck guard Joe Smoldt, who finished seventh on Iowa’s all-time scoring list with 2,358 points, was voted Mr. Basketball (given to a first team all-state senior). Smoldt is the first 1A player to claim the honor since Winfield-Mount Union’s Jess Settles in 1993.

Smoldt, a three-time captain of the all-tournament team at state, will continue his basketball career at Division II Upper Iowa University.

INA all-state teams

Class 4A

First team

Front line — Joe Wieskamp, Muscatine, 6-6, jr.; Van Rees, Sioux City East, 6-6, jr.; Douglas Wilson, Des Moines Hoover, 6-6, sr.

Back court — A.J. Green, Cedar Falls, 6-2, jr.; Tyreke Locure, Des Moines North, 5-10, so.; Devontae Lane, Iowa City West, 6-2, sr.

Utility — Connor McCaffery, Iowa City West, 6-6, sr.; Garrett Sturtz, Newton, 6-2, jr.

Second team

Front line — Jacob Rau, Waukee, 6-7, sr.; Noah Carter, Dubuque Senior, 6-5, so.; Patrick McCaffery, Iowa City West, 6-6, so.

Back court — Sam Ingoli, West Des Moines Dowling, 6-3, jr.; Ray Miller, Davenport Central, 6-0, sr.; Kyle Lang, Mason City, 6-0, sr.

Utility — Bailey Basala, North Scott, 6-5, sr.; Drew Maschoff, Ankeny, 6-3, sr.

Third team

Front line — Quinton Curry, West Des Moines Valley, 6-6, sr.; Joe Evans, Ames, 6-3, jr.; Jal Bijiek, Des Moines North, 6-7, sr.

Back court — Max Smith Drahos, Cedar Rapids Prairie, 6-1, sr.; Aidan Vanderloo, Sioux City East, 6-1, so.; Connor Gholson, Newton, 6-3, sr.

Utility — Connor Kasperbauer, Ankeny Centennial, 6-3, sr.; Chad Moran, Council Bluffs Lewis Central, 6-4, sr.

Class 3A

First team

Front line — Ryan VanWyk, Pella, 6-5, sr.; Garrett Franken, Atlantic, 6-7, sr.; Austin Phyfe, Waverly-Shell Rock, 6-10, sr.

Back court — Brady Sartorius, Mount Pleasant, 6-0, jr.; Elijah Hazekamp, Sioux City Heelan, 6-5, jr.; Luke Vaske, Norwalk, 6-1, jr.

Utility — Matt Mims, Cedar Rapids Xavier, 6-0, jr.; Chris Kroll, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 6-1, sr.

Second team

Front line — Cade McKnight, Grinnell, 6-9, sr.; Sam Snyder, Forest City, 6-5, jr.; Derek Krogman, West Delaware, 6-7, so.

Back court — Nate Mohr, Glenwood, 6-1, jr.; Trenton Hilbrands, LeMars, 6-0, sr.; Trey Tucker, Greene County, 6-0, sr.

Utility — Sam Allen, Grinnell, 6-3, sr.; Austin Ash, Mount Vernon, 6-2, sr.

Third team

Front line — Trevor Grove, Dallas Center-Grimes, 6-6, sr.; Andrew Blum, Glenwood, 6-4, jr.; Jackson Wright, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, 6-5, sr.

Back court — Jack Molstead, Charles City, 5-9, so.; Trenton Wallace, Davenport Assumption, 6-1, sr.; Tajen Ross, ADM (Adel), 6-3, sr.

Utility — Lim Chuol, Chariton, 6-3, sr.; John Nagel, West Delaware, 6-6, sr.

Class 2A

First team

Front line — Colin Hill, South Hamilton, 6-6, sr.; Matt Dentlinger, Carroll Kuemper, 6-7, sr; Cooper Kabela, West Branch, 6-4, sr.

Back court — Ethan Wyant, Jesup, 6-0, sr.; Levi Jungling, Pella Christian, 5-11, sr.; Ben Gesink, Western Christian, 6-3, sr.

Utility — Jesse Jansma, Western Christian, 6-3, sr.; Jay Small, Hinton, 6-3, sr.

Second team

Front line — Austin Roetman, Pocahontas Area, 6-7, sr.; Dylan Hundley, Camanche, 6-4, sr.; Isaiah Humphrey, Underwood, 6-2, sr.

Back court — Ben Juhl, Des Moines Christian, 6-1, sr.; Dakota Soenksen, Camanche, 6-3, sr.; Trenton Massner, Wapello, 6-1, jr.

Utility — Ben Latusek, Dike-New Hartford, 6-4, sr.; Riley LeGrand, Dyersville Beckman, 6-3, sr.

Third team

Front line — Zane Johnson, East Marshall, 6-4, jr.; David Kacmarysnki, Pella Christian, 6-3, sr.; James Betz, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, 6-7, so.

Back court — Drew Olson, Osage, 6-2, jr.; R.J. Harris, AHSTW, 6-2, jr.; Gannon O’Brien, Cascade, 6-0, jr.

Utility — Marco Balderas, South Hamilton, 5-7, jr.; Isaac Heyer, West Lyon, 6-3, sr.

Class 1A

First team

Front line — Nicholas Ruden, Remsen St. Mary’s, 6-4, jr.; Riley Van Wyhe, Central Lyon, 6-3, sr.; Brady Gavin, Martensdale-St. Marys, 6-7, jr.

Back court — Joe Smoldt, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, 6-1, sr.; Jake Hilmer, North Linn, 5-11, so.; Grant DeMeulenaere, Grand View Christian, 6-0, jr.

Utility — Jovonte Squiers, Lone Tree, 6-1, sr.; Jesse Van Wyk, Lynnville-Sully, 6-3, jr.

Second team

Front line — Seth Weiland, West Hancock, 6-7, sr; Nathan Karsjens, AGWSR, 6-7, sr.; Seth Moeller, Clinton Prince of Peace, 6-3, sr.

Back court — Christian Kyles, Siouxland Christian, 6-0, sr.; Mason Porter, New London, 6-2, so.; Dakota Strong, Montezuma, 6-1, sr.

Utility — Kaleb Anderson, Lenox, 5-9, sr.; Zach Martinek, West Fork, 6-4, so.

Third team

Front line — Colby Seuntjens, MVAO, 6-3, jr.; Jarod Nichols, Colfax-Mingo, 6-4, jr.; Niko Gosnell, Lone Tree, 6-8, sr.

Back court — Paul Rundquist, Wapsie Valley, 5-10, so.; Ryan Miller, North Linn, 5-10, jr.; Dylan Eckels, West Hancock, 6-0, sr.

Utility — Brett Kelting, Calamus-Wheatland, 6-3, sr.; Stephen Glenn, Grand View Christian, 6-2, sr.

Mr. Basketball: Joe Smoldt (Gladbrook-Reinbeck)


Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.