Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Pleasant Valley's Brian Dayman (30) reaches up for a rebound under pressure from North Scott's Corvon Seales (15) earlier this season. Both all-staters will play in Monday's Pepsi Senior All-Star basketball game at Augustana College.

Andy Abeyta, Quad-City Times

Davenport West and Davenport North will each have three boys representing the Iowa side next week in the annual Pepsi Iowa-Illinois Senior All-Star basketball game.

Slated for Monday at Augustana College's Carver PE Center, the girls will take the court at 6 p.m. followed by the boys contest around 7:30.

West's Trey Sampson, Brett Erwin and Kenny Clay, whom all received first- or second-team all-Mississippi Athletic Conference accolades, will participate as will North's Max Taylor, VJ Wilmington and Keenan Hollingshed. 

The Iowa boys team is led by Iowa Print Sports Writers Association first team all-stater Corvon Seales of North Scott and third-team selection Brian Dayman of Pleasant Valley. 

Muscatine's Joe Wieskamp, named Iowa's Mr. Basketball on Tuesday, and Davenport Assumption's duo of Trent Fitzpatrick and Ray Thrapp won't play because of prior commitments. 

The Illinois boys team is expected to have Rock Island's tandem of Randy Tucker and Ben Ellis along with Moline's Ben Monroe and Alleman's Andrew Barrett. Annawan all-staters Owen Landwehr and Ben Buresh, fresh off leading the Braves to a state runner-up finish, also will participate. 

In the girls contest, Pleasant Valley's all-state combo of Ellie Spelhaug and Kira Arthofer, both signed with Division I programs, are the headliners.

Bettendorf's Emily Ivory and Davenport North's Paige Bradford are the other first team all-MAC selections on the team which will be coached by Jennifer Goetz. 

Meanwhile, the Illinois squad is paced by Texas Tech signee Chrislyn Carr of Rock Island. Carr scored nearly 2,100 points in her high school career and recently was named first team all-state in Illinois by the Associated Press.

Moline's Alannah Crompton, United Township's Ryleigh O'Brien and Annawan's Jayde VanHyfte are among the other notables on the Illinois roster. 


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.