Central DeWitt won its first state championship in boys golf. Riverdale had two individuals finish inside the top 10 at the Illinois Class 1A state tournament. Pleasant Valley was sixth at the Iowa Class 5A girls state tournament.

Those three schools are prominently featured on this year's Quad-City Times All-Area boys and girls golf teams.

The Sabers have two first-team selections in junior Rielly McGranahan and senior McGwire Eden.

McGranahan had the lowest average of any golfer in the Iowa Q-C at 74 strokes for 18 holes and finished tied for second at the state meet. Eden was fourth as the Sabers claimed the Class 3A state title last month at Spring Valley Golf Course in Livermore.

Junior Tyler Bussert (second at state meet) and sophomore Anthony Ruthey (ninth) lead Riverdale. Davenport Assumption's Max Gogel and Alleman's Dylan Cervantes are on the first team again along with Clinton's Jake Luett.

Meanwhile, Mississippi Athletic Conference champion PV has two on the girls' top team in Allison Miller and Danielle Hendricksen.

Davenport North's Mckenzie O'Brien, Clinton Prince of Peace's Caitlyn Jacobs, Sherrard's Katy Schmitt and Rockridge's Jillian Stone, all state qualifiers, are repeat selections on the top team.


First team

Tyler Bussert, jr., Riverdale: A two-time state medalist and three-time all-state honoree in Illinois, Bussert was the 1A state runner-up after rounds of 76 and 72. He shot a 69 to win regionals, was the Three Rivers Conference champ and tied for seventh at sectionals.

Dylan Cervantes, sr., Alleman: Headed to play golf at Western Illinois, Cervantes was Western Big Six Conference runner-up and second at regionals (74). He tied for seventh at sectionals (76) and shot rounds of 79 and 85 at the 2A state tournament.

McGwire Eden, sr., Central DeWitt: Finished fourth at the Class 3A state tournament after consecutive rounds of 75. He posted 75 at sectionals, 77 at districts and averaged 77.7 strokes for 18 holes in helping the Sabers capture their first state championship.

Benny Flanagan, jr., Bettendorf: Registered a stroke average of 79 for the fall. The 4A state qualifier had rounds of 86 and 83 at state tournament to tie for 41st. He was fifth at district meet (74) and was fourth at MAC with rounds of 79 and 74.

Max Gogel, sr., Assumption: Named MAC player of the year and second team all-state in 4A by Iowa Golf Coaches Association, Gogel had a 77.1 scoring average. He won MAC tournament with rounds of 76 and 72 along with taking third at districts (73).

Jake Luett, sr., Clinton: Recorded the best scoring average of any MAC golfer (76.6) and tied for 24th at 4A state meet with rounds of 76 and 85. He was third at districts (73) and sixth at conference tournament (76-79).

Rielly McGranahan, jr., Central DeWitt: He was runner-up at 3A state tournament (72-76), third at sectionals (74), posted 73 at districts and compiled the low 18-hole scoring average for the Sabers (74) in powering them to their first state title.

Anthony Ruthey, so., Riverdale: Formed a nice 1-2 punch with Bussert at the top of the Rams' lineup. He was the Three Rivers Conference runner-up, tied for sixth at regionals (81), seventh at sectionals (75) and tied for ninth at 1A state tournament (78-77).

Honorable mention

Alleman: Ryan Rochholz, so.; Conner Boyd, sr. Assumption: Matt Cain, jr.; Griffin Steer, jr.; Tom Schebler, sr. Bellevue: Connor Michels, jr. Bettendorf: Steven Gottwald, jr.; Trever Rogan, jr. Calamus-Wheatland: Jacob Looney, jr. Camanche: Ethan Snyder, jr. Central DeWitt: Brad Gannon, sr. Davenport West: Aaron Willie, sr.; Garvin Paper, sr. Durant: Leo Callison, sr. Easton Valley: Carson McNeil, sr.; Kyle Petersen, sr. Fulton: Jason Sikkema, jr. Geneseo: Mick Haverland, jr.; Marshall Rice, sr. Mercer County: Matt McEwen, sr.; Connor Reid, jr. Moline: Eric Spurgetis, sr. Muscatine: Bryce Howard, jr.; JT Manjoine, jr.; Ben Linderman, sr.; Josh Hutton, jr. North Scott: Ethan Hamann, sr. Orion: Brady Grafton, sr.; Bryce Grafton, sr.; Landon Taets, sr. Pleasant Valley: Ryan Brohm, sr.; Michael Showers, sr.; Marshall Payne, sr. Prophetstown: Jackson Weston, sr.; Jaden Taylor, jr. Ridgewood: Jack Bumann, sr. Rock Island: Jeffrey Perez, sr. Rockridge: Justin Foy, sr. Wapello: Trace Howard, jr. West Carroll: Anthony Mendoza, sr. Wilton: Jake Fratzke, sr.; Nolan Leaton, jr.


First team

Riley Hansen, fr., Kewanee: She was champion at Three Rivers Conference meet and regional tournament, took sixth at sectionals and tied for eighth at Class 1A state tournament with rounds of 84 and 79.

Danielle Henricksen, sr., Pleasant Valley: Was a first team all-MAC selection after finishing fourth at conference tournament with an 89. She placed second at regionals with an 81, turned in a season-low 74 and was PV’s top finisher at state in 12th place (85-77).

Caitlyn Jacobs, sr., Clinton Prince of Peace: A two-time Tri-Rivers Conference medalist, Jacobs placed fourth at the Class 1A state tournament for second straight season. Jacobs, who shot an 86 both days at state, had season scoring average around 87.

Allison Miller, sr., Pleasant Valley: Fired a 79 at the conference meet to win medalist honors by seven strokes. Miller, who placed 14th at the Class 5A state tournament with rounds of 83 and 80, averaged 41.5 strokes for nine holes and 79 for 18.

Paige Miller, jr., Muscatine: Was the highest local finisher at the Iowa Class 5A state tournament with a ninth-place finish after rounds of 76 and 83. She was second at the conference meet (86) and tied for fifth at regionals with an 85.

Mckenzie O’Brien, sr., Davenport North: Headed to play golf at Eastern Illinois University, O’Brien was third at MAC meet (88), tied for fifth at regionals (85) and took 20th at 5A state tournament, including a final round 78 that was a career-low round.

Katy Schmitt, sr., Sherrard: A repeat selection on the first team, Schmitt is a four-time state qualifier in Illinois Class 1A. She placed fifth at state after rounds of 83 and 74. She was runner-up at Three Rivers Conference meet, regionals and sectionals.

Jillian Stone, sr., Rockridge: Also on last year’s first team, Stone finished inside the top five at the Three Rivers Conference meet, was regional runner-up and ninth at sectionals. At 1A state tournament, she had rounds of 81 and 91 for 36th place.

Honorable mention

Annawan-Wethersfield: CeCe Liichow, jr. Assumption: Caitlin Steimle, sr.; Olivia Leinart, so. Bettendorf: Nicki Blaum, sr. Calamus-Wheatland: Sarah Garland, jr.; Hannah Hamann, sr. Camanche: Hanna Nissen, so.; Callie Walker, sr. Central DeWitt: Kara Duffy, fr. Clinton: Annie Fier, sr. Durant: Paige McKee, sr. Easton Valley: Kalli Miller, sr. Erie: Sera Bebon, sr.; Riley Redell, jr.; Madison Newton, jr. Geneseo: Jenna Cheek, so.; Lauren Murray, jr.; Elizabeth Roodhouse, fr.; Emma Snell, so. Maquoketa: Taylor Thede, jr. Muscatine: Sarah Solt, sr.; Haley Trueg, sr. Northeast: Megan Crockett, sr. North Scott: Grace Bjustrom, fr.; Maddie Harbour, sr. Pleasant Valley: Brooke Harris, jr. Ridgewood: Breck Shannon, sr. Rock Island: Taylor Sodaro, sr. Sherrard: Nikki Schmitt, so. Tipton: Kailee Meyer, sr.; Brittany Huinker, jr. West Liberty: Kelzi Mather, sr.; Aly Jones, so.; Macy Akers, so. Wilton: Alyssa Anderson, sr.


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.