BURLINGTON, Iowa — The Muscatine girls cross country team posted a perfect score with all five scoring runners in the top five and all seven varsity runners in the top 10 to win the Burlington Invitational at the RecPlex on Thursday afternoon.

Muscatine's Brina Kraft won the race in 21 minutes, 3 seconds. Moriah Morter was the runner-up in 21:04, followed by Danielle Roos in third in 21:16, Emmie Smith in fourth in 21:49 and Elaina Bravo in fifth in 21:57. Nicole Garrido was sixth in 22:09 for the Muskies, while Sarah Solt was 10th overall in 23:09.

Danville-New London was second in the girls team race with 70 points.

"We went into this treating it as a fast-tempo run," Muscatine girls coach Tim Armstrong said. "We knew we were by far the favorite and though the conditions weren't good, we accomplished what we wanted to. ... It was a bit of a low-key event where we could relax a little bit. A good confidence builder for us."

The Muskie boys ran a junior varsity squad in the varsity race, finishing seventh as a team with 171 points. Burlington won their home meet with 40 points, led by race winner Cole Schroeder in 16:52.

Owen Hazelwood led the Muskies by finishing 24th in 19:52, followed by Canon Jones in 26th in 19:54, Brady Trego in 37th in 20:26, William Smith in 41st in 20:31, Jovani Camargo in 43rd in 20:33, Eli Roeth in 45th in 20:53 and Aiden Staker in 50th in 20:42.

"I thought the kids did really well," Muscatine boys coach Chris Foxen said. "We had our varsity guys training back in Muscatine with one of our assistants, but these guys ran like they do in practice and we just continue to get better for October. It's an excellent group of guys to be working with."

The Wapello girls did not field a full team, but were led by Eryka Dickey's 23rd-place performance in 25:29. Emma Reid was 25th in 26:31.

The Wapello boys team finished a slot ahead of Muscatine in sixth with 153 points, led by Aiden Housman's 19th-place time of 19:27. Armando Osornio was 25th in 19:52 for the Indians, Jacob Ewart 35th in 20:15, Joel Chaney took 36th in 20:18 and Jose Caro was 38th in 20:26.


WAPELLO 4-0 IN SEISC TOURNEY POOL PLAY: The Arrows (15-5) defeated Van Buren 21-16, 21-7; Louisa-Muscatine 21-8, 21-14; WACO 21-10, 21-19 and Highland 21-23, 21-14, 15-11 in the pool-play round of Southeast Iowa Superconference play at WACO High School on Thursday night.

The Arrows won the pool and will face Burlington Notre Dame in the first round of an 8-team tournament at Southeastern Community College in West Burlington on Saturday, starting at 5 p.m.

Mariah Mitchell had 31 kills for the Arrows, with six blocks and 10 aces. Alexis Talbott had a team-high 13 blocks along with 19 kills and Tiffany Parsons added 12 kills, seven blocks and seven aces.

Wapello (15-5) coach Ken Spielbauer saw a nice bounce back for Wapello after an 0-3 performance at a Holy Trinity tournament on Monday.

"Earlier this week, we got away from what we had been doing," Spielbauer said. "We've fought through this tough week and the kids did a good job.

"We were consistent defensively, and [Talbott] is a big girl, she's pretty tough to handle at the net."


MUSCATINE JV 2ND AT BURLINGTON: The Muskies scored 54 points and only trailed champions Davenport Central with 30 points.

Burlington's Brady Wells won the race in 19 minutes, 33 seconds and Muscatine's Simon Reichert was in second place overall but received first-place team points with a 19:52 finish. Matt Booth was second in 20:11 for the Muskies, followed by Kevin Erber (21:34) in 14th, Phil Smith (22:33) in 18th, Gavin Krings (22:33) in 19th, Seth Hoffman (22:51) in 20th and Isaac Nichols (24:36) in 25th.


MUSCATINE JV WINS AT BURLINGTON: The Muskies won a two-team race with 19 points to Fort Madison's 41 points.

Muscatine's Olivia Fourneau was the overall winner in 22 minutes, 22 seconds. Emma Maynard (23:12) was second, Abby Rusch (23:44) fourth, Rylee Blake (24:01) fifth, Ellie Cahill (24:45) seventh, Kaleigh Bell (24:49) eighth, Izzy Terry (24:51) 10th, Rachel Mullikin (25:02) 11th, Julia Moravec (25:02) 12th, Aspen Whyle (25:20) 13th, Molly Tigrett (25:46) 15th, Alexus Donath (25:53) 16th, Raquel Navarrete (26:17) 17th, Ellie Howard (27:19) 21st, Melissa Burzlaff (27:54) 22nd, Maria Hight (27:55) 23rd, Annie Hight (28:46) 24th, Gabby Garcia (28:48) 25th, Kamryn Avis (29:27) 26th, Erin Elizalde (30:00) 27th and Sydney Roeth (37:52) 33rd.