Assumption's Hannah Kelley (27) crosses home plate during a Class 3A regional game last month. Kelley, the conference's player of the year, gave Northern Iowa a verbal commitment Saturday. 


League champion Davenport Assumption and runner-up Pleasant Valley each had five players selected to the first team of the Mississippi Athletic Conference softball team today.

Assumption junior pitcher and infielder Hannah Kelley was chosen as the league’s player of the year. Kelley is 19-1 with a 0.42 ERA in 117-plus innings in the pitching circle. At the plate, she is batting .417 with 17 extra-base hits and 56 RBIs.

Kelley is joined on the first team by teammates Nicole Timmons (pitcher), Emma Valainis (catcher), Sophie VanSeveren (outfield) and Hannah Wislander (utility).

The Knights went unscathed through 18 conference games and take a 41-game win streak into today’s Class 3A state quarterfinal against West Marshall.

Alexia Lara (pitcher), Hannah Mausser (catcher), Carli Spelhaug (second base), Emily Wood (outfield) and Ellie Spelhaug (utility) represent PV on the top team.

Lara is hitting .492 with 11 home runs and 48 RBIs for the Spartans going into Tuesday night's state quarterfinal against West Des Moines Valley.

Davenport West had four first-team choices, including the MAC’s leading home run and run producer in senior Lexy Monty. The first baseman connected for 19 homers and drove in 66. Jayme Finn, who hit a league-best .526, is on the first team for the Falcons along with Erica Ralfs (utlity) and Rachel Stewart (second base).

Also on the first team are Muscatine’s Brittni Lloyd and Jessi Butler, Bettendorf’s Alli Wroblewski, Davenport North’s Lauren Proehl and Burlington’s Emily Bloomer.

Assumption's Ron Ferrill was voted as the league's coach of the year.