Central DeWitt logo

Paced by its two lower weights and a returning state place winner, the Central DeWitt wrestling team earned a top-three finish Saturday at the Cascade Invitational.

Freshmen Keaton Zeimet (106 pounds) and Robert Howard (113) won titles for the Sabers along with 195-pounder Nick Smith.

Western Dubuque claimed the 13-team tournament with 191 points, followed by Dyersville Beckman (155) and Central DeWitt (150.5).

Zeimet (24-1) edged Cascade freshman Aidan Noonan in the final, 6-5. Howard (21-4) nipped Union La Porte City's Payton Hellman, 5-4.

Smith, meanwhile, posted a 9-3 win over Western Dubuque's Freddie Hosch in the championship. The Sabers also had second-place finishes from Max Cousins (152) and Cameron Lee (285).

Midland's Brett Schoenherr was runner-up at 220.

Bellemy claims title: In a field that included state-ranked Fort Dodge and Dubuque Hempstead, Davenport Central's Levon Bellemy was the only local to capture a championship at the J-Hawk Invitational in Cedar Rapids.

Bellemy (26-1) beat Fort Dodge's Kaden Smith 11-5 in the 170-pound final.

Moline took third in the 14-team field with 153.5 points. Isaiah Tapia (106) and Cobie Underwood (285) were runners-up. Tapia lost by major decision in the final, while Underwood suffered a 5-4 ultimate tiebreak loss to Hempstead's Dylan Olson.

Clinton took fifth with 115.5 points. Ethan Barry (195) was the River Kings' highest place finisher.

In a battle of two three-time state champions who never had lost a high school match before this season, Underwood's Alex Thomsen edged Fort Dodge's Brody Teske 10-8 in overtime at 126 pounds. Thomsen avenged a loss to Teske from a month ago.

Michel upsets Brisker: Maquoketa sophomore Abe Michel handed Wilton three-time state place winner and top-ranked Trey Brisker his first loss of the year in the finals of the Loyd Shaffer Invitational in Marion.

Michel (24-6) beat Brisker 10-6 in the 152-pound finale, the lone champion for the Cardinals. Wilton's Cory Anderson (138) beat Keokuk's Matt Wyatt in the final, and Louisa-Muscatine's Hunter Connor (182) stayed perfect on the season with an 11-3 win in the final.

Williamsburg cruised to the title with 244.5 points. Wilton was sixth with 136.5 points.

Comets third at Solon: Austin Beaver and the Esmoil brothers registered championships Saturday to lead West Liberty to a third-place finish at the Ed Hadenfeldt Invitational in Solon.

Will Esmoil (132) beat Vinton-Shellsburg's Luke Radeke 8-3 in the final. Beaver clipped North Cedar's Tyler Thurston 3-2 in the 160-pound final, and Bryce Esmoil (195) moved to 34-0 with a second-period pin over Jake Jennett.

Lisbon won the 13-team meet with 211.5 points, followed by Solon (194) and West Liberty (189).

Kewanee crowns two champs: Kewanee's Lewis Robinson and Jeremy Burhorn each won titles as Kewanee finished third in its 17-team tournament Saturday with 129 points.

The 152-pound Robinson, still undefeated on the season, had two falls and a 5-3 decision win over Aurora Christian's Jaycee Gonzalez. Burhorn pinned Aurora Christian's Jack Certa in the final. Kewanee 285-pounder Nathan Thumma placed second.

Aurora Christian had five champions to win the tournament with 253 points.