First team

106: Jarod Kadel

School: Columbus Community

Year: Sophomore

Record: 42-8

Credentials: He finished runner-up to state champion Grayson Kesterson of Williamsburg at sectionals, districts and the 2A state meet. His 42 wins were second most on team. 

113: Devon Meeker

School: Wapello

Year: Senior

Record: 39-8

Credentials: He finished as state runner-up in Class 1A after compiling 23 points in his first three wins at the state tournament. Meeker was second at SEISC meet, sectionals and districts. 

120: Tyler Fleetwood

School: Fulton

Year: Junior

Record: 40-2

Credentials: A repeat all-area selection and three-time state medalist, Fleetwood made it back-to-back state titles in Illinois 1A. He also won regional and sectional titles along with Bob Mitton Invite in Orion.

126: Stone Engle

School: Mercer County

Year: Junior

Record: 43-4

Credentials: The regional champion and sectional runner-up placed fourth at Illinois 1A state tournament. His 43 wins were second best on a team ranked among top 15 in the state. 

132: Kaeden Harmon

School: Mercer County

Year: Junior

Record: 19-3

Credentials: Returned from a knee injury midway through the season and failed to place at Orion's Bob Mitton Invite. He was a regional champion but was sick at the sectional meet. 

138: Joe Eads (captain)

School: Morrison

Year: Senior

Record: 43-3

Credentials: The Illinois Class 1A state champion is among the state's all-time pin leaders with 114. After taking third place at state as a junior, he pocketed regional and sectional titles as well this season. 

145: Lewis Robinson

School: Kewanee

Year: Junior

Record: 40-5

Credentials: The regional and sectional champion was the 1A state runner-up. He recorded a technical fall and two decision wins at state before the finals loss to unbeaten Nolan Baker of Byron.

152: Joe Kelly

School: West Liberty

Year: Junior

Record: 43-3

Credentials: Won River Valley Conference, sectional and district titles along with a third-place finish at 2A state tournament. Three-time state place winner pinned his way through sectionals and districts. 

160: Garrett Passmore

School: Erie-Prophetstown

Year: Junior

Record: 38-6

Credentials: The Bob Mitton Invitational champion placed third at 1A state tournament. After losing in state quarterfinals, he responded with four bonus-point victories. 

170: Tyler Rolling

School: Sherrard

Year: Senior

Record: 45-7

Credentials: Regional champion and third-place sectional finisher reached semifinals at 1A state tournament before settling for fifth place. He led Tigers in wins.

182: Bryce Oveson

School: Wilton

Year: Senior

Record: 40-5

Credentials: The sectional and district champion placed fourth at 1A state tournament. A four-time state qualifier, Oveson won Willard Howell, Gary Curtis and Marion invitationals. 

195: Bryce Esmoil

School: West Liberty

Year: Junior

Record: 42-2

Credentials: He became West Liberty's first state champion since 2000. After two losses in December at Keith Young Invite, he didn't lose again. He picked up River Valley Conference, sectional and district titles.

220: Logan Lee

School: Orion

Year: Sophomore

Record: 41-3

Credentials: Regional champion and sectional runner-up claimed 1A state title with three pins and a 12-9 decision in final. Tight end and defensive end already has football offers from Iowa, Illinois and Michigan.

285: Sam Thomas

School: Geneseo

Year: Senior

Record: 38-6

Credentials: Indiana State football signee was Geneseo Invitational champion, Northern Illinois Big 12 champion, sectional winner, regional runner-up and fifth place at 2A state tournament. 

At-large: Baylor Crigger

School: Camanche

Year: Sophomore

Record: 38-3

Credentials: The 145-pounder won Northeast, Central DeWitt and Bob Lueders invitationals along with River Valley Conference title. Was unable to compete in postseason because of an appendicitis.

At-large: James Schnerre

School: Orion

Year: Junior

Record: 46-6

Credentials: The 145-pounder was regional champion, third at sectionals and placed third at 1A state tournament. Schnerre posted two bonus-point wins at state tournament. 

Second team 

106: Will Esmoil, West Liberty, fr., 43-6

113: Dallas Krueger, Rockridge, fr., 35-12

120: Ben Emrich, Tipton, jr., 41-6

126: Nolan Throne, Rockridge, fr., 42-7

132: Mason Loete, Orion, so., 34-16

138: Austin Leopard, Louisa-Muscatine, sr., 44-4

145: Trey Brisker, Wilton, jr., 44-6

152: Wilson Ferry, Orion, sr., 39-13

160: Dylan Keller, Morrison, sr., 38-7

170: Tucker Morrison, Columbus, sr., 48-4

182: Justin Carey, Mercer County, sr., 46-6

195: Robbie Carey, Mercer County, sr., 40-3

220: Nick Smith, Central DeWitt, jr., 40-9

285: Taylor Fleetwood, Fulton, jr., 35-7

At-large: Nate Thoms, Camanche, sr., 44-6, 138 pounds

At-large: Mason Lyons, Bellevue, sr., 44-5, 195 pounds

Honorable mention

Camanche: Ben Vogel, fr., 106; Eric Campie, so., 132; Kolby Snodgrass, jr., 220

Central DeWitt: Tyler Bossom, sr., 120; Isaac Payne, jr., 126; Max Cousins, jr., 152; Kyle Irwin, sr., 160; Ira Kuehn, sr., 170; Reece Westphal, sr., 182 

Erie-Propthetstown: Kerrick Cameron, sr., 138 

Fulton: Tony Heinitz, jr., 138; Cole Grant, sr., 152; Eli Pannell, so., 182 

Geneseo: Logan Weber, sr., 160; Ethan Kennedy, sr., 170; Zach Humphrey, sr., 220

Louisa-Muscatine: Hunter Connor, jr., 182

Maquoketa: Lucas Davison, sr., 145; Abe Michel, fr., 152; Trevor Bickford, sr., 285

Mercer County: Camden Whitenack, fr., 113; Steven Speaker, so., 170 

Midland: Trevor Gudenkauf, so., 120; Griffen Gravel, so., 126; Kasper Heiken, jr., 132; Landon Hunter, sr., 152; Brett Schoenherr, so., 220

Morrison: Ryan Kennedy, fr., 106; Augustus Linke, jr., 120; Reilly Dolan, jr., 145; Riley Wilkens, fr., 195; Brandon Meier, sr., 285

North Cedar: Byron Boleyn, sr., 170

Northeast: Seth Edens, so., 138; Wyatt Schmidt, jr., 152

Orion: Ethan Mesenburg, fr., 106; Chad Banfield, so. 182

Rockridge: Collin Schmidt, jr., 220

Sherrard: Jarrett Bailey, jr., 220

Tipton: John Crowley, so., 126; Zach Jones, sr., 195

Wapello: Daniel Meeker, fr., 106; Rogan Pforts, sr., 160

West Liberty: Talen Dengler, fr., 113; Coy Ruess, so., 126; Noah Bierman, sr., 132; Justis Dengler, jr., 138; Austin Beaver, so., 145; Jackson Gingerich, jr., 182

Wilton: Reid Johnson, jr., 120; Cory Anderson, so., 126; Jerome Mays, so., 132; Cameron Reddick, jr., 170


Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.