MADISON, Wis. — Iowa started with a bang, but finished with a whimper Sunday as it clinched a share of the Big Ten wrestling dual championship for the eighth time since 2000.

The third-ranked Hawkeyes defeated Wisconsin 28-10 to complete the dual season with a 15-2 record, including a 7-1 mark in conference competition which leaves Iowa as co-champions in a three-way tie for first with Minnesota and Penn State.

Although Iowa rolled as team, a pair of third-rated Hawkeyes lost in their final matches before the Big Ten Championships.

Derek St. John and Bobby Telford both dropped 3-1 decisions on takedowns in the final 30 seconds of matches against top-10 opponents.

St. John lost for just the third time in 26 matches this season, surrendering a takedown with :23 remaining in his match at 157 against seventh-rated Isaac Gordon, a 24-4 freshman who also defeated top-rated James Green of Nebraska on Friday.

Telford’s match against the Badgers’ Connor Medbery at 285 was also decided in the final :20 when the Wisconsin sophomore recorded the only takedown of the dual’s final match.

Cory Clark and Tony Ramos opened the meet at the Wisconsin Field House with pins, Clark dropping Bradley Taylor in 2 minutes, 3 seconds at 125 pounds and Ramos earning his team-leading 11th pin of the season at 133.

The third-rated Ramos pinned Matthew Cavallaris in 6:23 after the Badgers opted not to include fifth-ranked Tyler Graff in their lineup Sunday.

Iowa’s only other bonus points in the dual came at 165, where Nick Moore routed Benjamin Cox 18-4.

Davenport Assumption graduate Brody Grothus improved to 22-8 on the season at 149, using a third-period score to win a 2-1 decision against Rylan Lubeck.

The Hawkeyes are idle until returning to Wisconsin on March 8-9 for the 100th Big Ten Championships.