Try 1 month for 99¢


Cancer Kickin'

High school students Cameron Christiansen, of Muscatine; Karly Lent, of Bettendorf; Katelyn McChesney, of Rock Island and Sebastian Mireles, of Muscatine each received $1,000 Cancer Kickin’ Scholarships from Gilda’s Club and CCKMA. Recipients were recognized at the 10th annual CCKMA Event April 8, at Q-C Waterfront Convention Center.

Coca-Cola Scholar

Saneha Borisuth, a senior at Moline High School, has been awarded a $20,000 scholarship by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Borisuth is a member of the 29th class of Coca-Cola Scholars and was selected from nearly 86,000 applicants from across the country.

Iowa State University

Danielle Manna, of Geneseo, Illinois, received a scholarship from the Iowa State University College of Human Sciences to support a student teaching experience. Manna is a senior studying elementary education.

Cole Neese, of Davenport, was among 22 award recipients at the annual Iowa State University Agricultural Business Club banquet. Neese received the Outstanding Club Member-Freshman award. The $750 Mark Deiter scholarship was paired with the award. The event recognizes scholarship winners from the Department of Economics. Club advisers select award winners based on involvement and contributions to the club.

Cadet Alex Shum, interdisciplinary studies major from Clinton, received the Father Winlock Scholarship at the Iowa State University annual Army ROTC Military Ball March 25.

Iowa Financial Know-How Challenge

Pleasant Valley High School seniors, Emily Bruinsma and Cameron Trentz, each received a $2,000 Iowa Financial Know-How Challenge: Senior Scholarship from nonprofit Iowa Student Loan. Applicants completed two online financial literacy tutorials and a related assessment to qualify for one of 30 scholarships. Each recipient’s high school will receive a $500 award to improve or implement financial literacy and scholarship programs.

LIM College

Sabina Saliu, of Bettendorf, a student at LIM College in New York City, has been awarded the Maxwell F. Marcuse Founder’s Scholarship, which will provide half the tuition for her senior year. Saliu is a graduate of Pleasant Valley High School and is majoring in fashion merchandising.

River Valley Cooperative

River Valley Cooperative has awarded four $1,000 scholarships and nine $500 scholarships to students choosing an ag-related career and who reside in eastern Iowa and western Illinois. The following students received scholarships:


Aledo: Amanda Carlson, Matthew Lloyd.

Altona: Madelyn Main.

Annawan: Adam Dynes.

Atkinson: Dylan Decker.

Coal Valley: Tom Clifton.

Lynn Center: Brayden Newman.


Bennett: Ryan Storjohann.

Bryant: Todd Holdgrafer, Matthew Eichert.

Lowden: Nicholas Dewell.

Preston: Marta Grant, Melissa Strait.

Southeast Missouri State

Noel Huntley, a senior at Alleman Catholic High School, Rock Island, has received the Regents' Scholarship and Visual and Performing Arts Scholarship to attend Southeast Missouri State University, Cape Girardeau, for the 2017-18 academic year.

UICCU Give and Grow

Mackenzie Slade, a student at Bettendorf High School, received one of five $1,000 University of Iowa Community Credit Union (UICCU) Give and Grow Scholarships. UICCU will also donate $1,000 to the charity of each scholarship recipient’s choice. Slade will attend the University of Iowa and chose the Honor Flight of the Quad-Cities as her charity.

Upper Iowa University

The following students received awards at the 2017 Honors and Awards Recognition Banquet at Upper Iowa University, Fayette, Iowa:


Moline: Molly Brougham, John Rippe Scholarship.

Rock Island: Madison Doyle, CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award, The Hertz Scholarship Fund, Dr. J.M. and Zinita Dickman Murphy Scholarship, Thomas Parker Goebel and Helen Goebel Scholarship.


Bettendorf: Kimberly Pizano, William F. and LaVonne I. Gutches Student Scholarship.

Columbus Junction: Erik Murry, William F. Baker Science Memorial Award.

Wilton: Tyleah Ervin, Linda Haines Endowed Scholarship.