Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Garza and Kriener share Chris Street Award

Garza and Kriener share Chris Street Award

Garza Kriener.jpg

Luka Garza (left) and Ryan Kriener were the co-winners of the Chris Street Award with the Iowa basketball team for the 2019-20 season.

The college basketball season ended six months ago, but Luka Garza is still adding to his impressive stack of postseason awards.

The University of Iowa center, who was the Big Ten Conference player of the year and won six national player of the year awards, was named the co-winner of the Hawkeyes’ Chris Street Award on Tuesday.

Garza and senior center Ryan Kriener shared the honor, presented annually to the player or players "who best exemplify the spirit, enthusiasm, and intensity" of Street, an Iowa player who died in a car accident in 1993.

Garza averaged 23.9 points per game for the season, 26.2 in Big Ten games, becoming the first player to average at least 26 or more points in league play since Purdue’s Glenn Robinson in 1994 and the first true center to do it since Minnesota’s Tom Kondla in 1967. Garza scored 20 or more points in 16 consecutive Big Ten games and broke Iowa’s school record with 740 points for the season.

Kriener, one of only two seniors on Iowa’s team, averaged 7.7 points per game in helping the Hawkeyes to a 20-11 record and what would have been a certain berth in the NCAA tournament.

Kriener also shared the team’s most improved player award with Muscatine’s Joe Wieskamp, who was second on the team in both scoring (14.0) and rebounding (6.1) and led the Big Ten in free throw percentage (85.6).

Garza also was named the Hawkeyes’ best rebounder after averaging 9.8 rebounds per game, fourth best in the Big Ten.

The team’s newcomer of the year award went to redshirt freshman CJ Fredrick, who led the Big Ten in 3-point field goal percentage (46.1) while averaging 10.2 points per game. The top playmaker award went to Connor McCaffery, who led the nation in assist-to-turnover ratio.

The Kenny Arnold Hawkeye Spirit Award, for "leadership, character, courage, determination and poise," was shared by Joe Toussaint and Bakari Evelyn.

The academic excellence award was shared by Connor McCaffery and Bettendorf’s Michael Baer.

Iowa's postseason awards normally are handed out at a banquet sometime in the spring, but that event was canceled because of the COVID-19 pandemic.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News