Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Big Ten basketball players in the transfer portal

Big Ten basketball players in the transfer portal

  • Updated
  • 0

In recent seasons, close to 700 Division I men’s college basketball players have entered the NCAA’s transfer portal each year as a way to investigate shifting their services to a different school.

With the NCAA Division I Council expected to approve a new rule allowing athletes to transfer one time during their careers without having to sit out a season, that number already has escalated to a new high. More than 1,600 players already are in the portal.

Big Ten players in the transfer portal:

Illinois: Kofi Cockburn, Adam Miller (LSU), Jermaine Hamlin (Eastern Illinois)

Indiana: Armaan Franklin (Virginia), Al Durham (Providence), Joey Brunk (Ohio State), Race Thompson (returning to Indiana), Khristian Lander (returning to Indiana), Jordan Geronimo (returning to Indiana), Jerome Hunter (Xavier), Parker Stewart (returning to Indiana), Jacquez Henderson

Iowa: CJ Fredrick (Kentucky), Jack Nunge (Xavier), Austin Ash (returning to Iowa), Michael Baer (Siena)

Maryland: Darryl Morsell (Marquette), Aquan Smart (Florida International), Jairus Hamilton (Western Kentucky), Chol Marial (Oregon State), Connor Odom

Michigan State: Rocket Watts (Mississippi State), Thomas Kithier (Valparaiso), Foster Loyer (Davidson), Jack Hoiberg (UT-Arlington)

Minnesota: Marcus Carr, Both Gach (Utah), Liam Robbins (Vanderbilt), Gabe Kalscheur, (Iowa State), Brandon Johnson (DePaul), Jamaal Mashburn Jr. (New Mexico), Tre Williams (Oregon State), Martice Mitchell (Northern Illinois), Sam Freeman (Pacific), Jarvis Omersa (St. Thomas), David Mutaf (signed to play professionally in Spain)

Nebraska: Teddy Allen (New Mexico State), Yvan Ouedraogo (Grand Canyon), Akol Arop (Omaha), Elijah Wood (Eastern Illinois), Brett Porter (Central, Neb., CC)

Northwestern: Miller Kopp (Indiana), Anthony Gaines (Siena)

Ohio State: Musa Jallow (Charlotte), Ibrahima Diallo (San Jose State)

Penn State: Myreon Jones (Florida), Jamari Wheeler (Ohio State), Izaiah Brockington (Iowa State), Seth Lundy (returning to Penn State), John Harrar (returning to Penn State), Patrick Kelly (Fordham), Trent Buttrick (UMass), D.J. Gordon (Fordham). Abdou Tsimbila

Purdue: Aaron Wheeler (St. John's), Emmanuel Dowuona (Tennessee State)

Rutgers: Myles Johnson (UCLA), Jacob Young (Oregon), Montez Mathis (St. John's), Mamadou Doucoure (LaSalle), Daniel Lobach (Samford)

Wisconsin: Nate Reuvers (turned pro), Trevor Anderson (Valparaiso), Joe Hedstrom (Valparaiso), Walt McGrory (South Dakota)

Players transferring into Big Ten programs:

Illinois: Omar Payne (Florida), Alfonso Plummer (Utah)

Indiana: Xavier Johnson (Pittsburgh), Miller Kopp (Northwestern), Michael Durr (South Florida)

Iowa: Filip Rebraca (North Dakota)

Maryland: Fatts Russell (Rhode Island), Qudus Wahab (Georgetown), Ian Martinez (Utah), Simon Wright (Elon)

Michigan: Devante Jones (Coastal Carolina)

Michigan State: Tyson Walker (Northeastern)

Minnesota: Jamison Battle (George Washington), E.J. Stephens (Lafayette), Luke Loewe (William & Mary), Sean Sutherlin (New Hampshire), Parker Fox (Northern State), Payton Willis (College of Charleston), Charlie Daniels (Stephen F. Austin)

Nebraska: Keon Edwards (DePaul), C.J. Wilcher (Xavier)

Northwestern: Elyjah Williams (Fairleigh Dickinson)

Ohio State: Jamari Wheeler (Penn State), Joey Brunk (Indiana)

Penn State: Jaheam Cornwall (Gardner-Webb), Jalen Pickett (Siena), Greg Lee (Western Michigan)

Rutgers: Aundre Hyatt (LSU)

Wisconsin: Jahcobi Neath (Wake Forest), Chris Vogt (Cincinnati)


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News