You are the owner of this article.
Assumption's Wallace MAC POY; Central with four first teamers

Assumption's Wallace MAC POY; Central with four first teamers


Assumption's Trenton Wallace was named the Mississippi Athletic Conference player of the year after going 6-1 with a 0.28 ERA.

Iowa recruit and Davenport Assumption junior Trenton Wallace was selected as the Mississippi Athletic Conference’s baseball player of the year Wednesday.

Wallace, who powered the Knights to their first conference title since 2009 and a No. 1 state ranking in Class 3A, was 6-1 with a 0.28 ERA. The southpaw struck out 70 and walked 14 in 50 innings. At the plate, he batted .403 with a league-best 17 doubles, four home runs and a MAC-high 51 RBI.

He was joined on the 14-player first team by teammates Connor Lindaman (first base) and Joe Argo (outfield). Billy Argo was named the league’s coach of the year.

Davenport Central had a conference-best four first-team selections in Ian Bedell (pitcher), Christian Pena (shortstop), Alec Capshaw (third base) and Bobby Magnus (outfield). League runner-up North Scott had three on the first team in Ryan Miller (pitcher), Kier Brown (catcher) and Tony Barreca (outfield).

Bettendorf’s Jacob Van DeWiele (outfield) and Andy Whiteman (utility), Davenport West’s Trevor Burkhart (utility) and Burlington’s Josh Vorwerk (second base) rounded out the first team.


All-MAC teams

First team

Pitchers — Trenton Wallace, jr., Davenport Assumption; Ryan Miller, sr., North Scott; Ian Bedell, so., Davenport Central

Catcher — Kier Brown, sr., North Scott

First base — Connor Lindaman, sr., Davenport Assumption

Second base — Josh Vorwerk, jr., Burlington

Shortstop — Christian Pena, sr., Davenport Central

Third base — Alec Capshaw, sr., Davenport Central

Outfield — Bobby Magnus, jr., Davenport Central; Joe Argo, sr., Davenport Assumption; Tony Barreca, so., North Scott; Jacob Van DeWiele, jr., Bettendorf

Utility — Trevor Burkhart, so., Davenport West; Andy Whiteman, jr., Bettendorf

Second team

Pitchers — Clayton Nettleton, so., Davenport West; Daniel Powers, so., Davenport Assumption; Ben Steidler, jr., North Scott Catcher — Ryan Lorber, sr., Davenport Central

First base — Tyler Mulholland, jr., Clinton

Second base — Nick Acri, jr., Pleasant Valley

Shortstop — Braeden Brown, sr., Burlington

Third base — Brooks Sunny, so., North Scott

Outfield — Brandon Charles, sr., Davenport West; Justus Burke, jr., Davenport Assumption; Tevyn Hutcherson, sr., Davenport Central; Jackson Foulk, so., Muscatine

Utility — Adam Sacia, jr., North Scott; Ben Beutel, jr., Davenport North; Allen Vis, jr., North Scott

Honorable mention

Assumption — Raul Alvarado, Jack Tucker, Austin Wedig

Bettendorf — Sergei Swart, Jacob Wehr, Justin Hutter

Burlington — Cristian Cordero, Kace Massner, John Werner

Clinton — Ethan Chapman, Garrett Knutsen, Colin Nelson

Davenport Central — Andrew Rink, Oscar Rios, McLaine Waddell

Davenport North — Bryan Verdon, Ryan Healey, Will Lard

Davenport West — Nate Hoth, Nick Hoefer, Colton Jones

Muscatine — Jake Mussehl, Gavyn Ashley, Koltyn Niles

North Scott — Jared Rus, Drew Boffeli, Kiel Brown

Pleasant Valley — Max Slavens, Stephen Pim, Alex Syverud

Player of the Year: Trenton Wallace (Assumption)

Coach of the Year: Billy Argo (Assumption)


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Editor

Sports editor, with my emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 19 years, the last seven at the Q-C Times.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News