Try 1 month for 99¢

North Scott catcher Tony Barreca and third baseman Brooks Sunny were selected to the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association all-state super team.

The super team is comprised of the top 16 players in the state regardless of classification.

Barreca, a Georgetown recruit and co-captain of the Quad-City Times All-Metro team, batted a team-high. 469 with 50 runs, 11 doubles and 15 stolen bases.

Sunny, headed to Division II Arkansas-Fort Smith and the Mississippi Athletic Conference player of the year, hit .466 with a team-high 44 RBIs. He also was 5-0 on the mound with a 1.31 ERA.

There were four players from the area selected to the first team in their respective class -- Clinton's Jared Simpson (outfielder in 4A), Assumption's Julien Broderson (pitcher in 3A) and Wilton's tandem of pitcher Jared Townsend and utility player Collin McCrabb in 2A.

Among the second-team selections were Davenport West pitcher Clayton Nettleton and infielder Trevor Burkhart along with Pleasant Valley first baseman Evan Crawford and North Scott outfielder Chase Moseley in 4A.

Assumption had a pair of second-team choices in 3A with Seth Adrian and Jayce Levy. Central DeWitt's Cam Steffens also was on the second team.

Wilton's Cory Anderson was a utility selection to the second team in 2A.

For a player to be considered, it had to be selected first team all-district by the coaches.

Indianola's Brendan Sher was named The Graphic Edge/IHSBCA Player of the Year. Barreca received the Lanny Peterson "All-Academic" Award.


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.