Try 1 month for 99¢
021618-Muscatine-PV-Boys-004 (copy)

Muscatine's Joe Wieskamp shoots a jump shot during a game against Pleasant Valley last month. Wieskamp was named Iowa's Mr. Basketball for 2018 today in voting by state's sportswriters and coaches. 

Joe Wieskamp added another honor to his decorated high school basketball career Monday.

The Muscatine senior became the first player in Mississippi Athletic Conference history to be selected to the league's top team all four years and repeated as player of the year in voting by the MAC head coaches.

Wieskamp is averaging 33.7 points and 13.5 rebounds per game going into Tuesday night's Class 4A state quarterfinal against Iowa City West.

The reigning Iowa Gatorade Player of the Year and a top 50 national recruit, the Iowa signee has scored 2,347 career points and pulled down more than 900 rebounds, both all-time bests in the MAC.

The 6-foot-6 Wieskamp was joined on the first team by Bettendorf junior DJ Carton, North Scott senior Corvon Seales, Davenport West senior Trey Sampson, Davenport Assumption senior Trent Fitzpatrick and the Pleasant Valley duo of senior Brian Dayman and junior Hunter Snyder.

Carton set a Bettendorf school record for single-season scoring average at 23.6 points per game. Seales leads 4A state-qualifier North Scott in scoring at 15.5 points per contest.

Sampson was West's top scorer (14.2 ppg.) while Fitzpatrick led the Knights at 12.3 points per game.

Dayman and Snyder were double-digit scorers at 13.2 and 12.1 points per game, respectively.

PV's Steve Hillman was voted as the coach of the year. The Spartans and North Scott shared the league crown at 16-2.

All-MAC teams

First team

Joe Wieskamp, sr., Muscatine; DJ Carton, jr., Bettendorf; Corvon Seales, sr., North Scott; Brian Dayman, sr., Pleasant Valley; Trey Sampson, sr., Davenport West; Trent Fitzpatrick, sr., Assumption; Hunter Snyder, jr., Pleasant Valley

Second team

Brett Erwin, sr., Davenport West; VJ Wilmington, sr., Davenport North; Kenny Clay, sr., Davenport West; Carter Duwa, jr., Pleasant Valley; Max Taylor, sr., Davenport North; Nate Tyson, sr., Davenport Central; Cortaviaus Seales, jr., North Scott

Honorable mention

Assumption -- Dylan Peeters, jr.; Sean Peeters, so.; Ray Thrapp, sr.

Bettendorf -- Devynn Wakefield, sr.

Burlington -- Daxton Washington-Smothers, jr.; Brendon Hale, fr.

Clinton -- LJ Henderson, so.; Bret Myli, jr.

Davenport Central -- Diontrel Wommack, jr.

Davenport North -- TJ Vesey, jr.; Keenan Hollingshed, sr.

Davenport West -- Balene Mitchell, sr.

Muscatine -- Jackson Foulk, sr.

North Scott -- Reece Sommers, jr.

Pleasant Valley -- Caleb Carius, sr.

Player of year -- Wieskamp (Muscatine)

Coach of year -- Steve Hillman (PV)


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.