Try 1 month for 99¢

Pleasant Valley's boys cross country team had not captured a trophy at the state meet the past three seasons.

The Spartans changed that this fall behind a pair of juniors and a deep pack.

Mississippi Athletic Conference champion Nicholas Yanek and runner-up Konnor Sommer, both of PV, are among the seven boys selected to this year's Quad-City Times All-Metro team after guiding the school to a runner-up finish at the Class 4A state meet. 

Yanek and Sommer both ran sub-16 minute 5,000-meter times at the conference meet in Burlington. 

They're joined by Muscatine's Alex Bautista and Davenport West's Andrew Wright from the Iowa side along with Alleman's Spencer Smith, Augie Darrow and United Township's Dalton Martin. 

Davenport Assumption's Joy Ripslinger and Julia Schumacher, both top-5 finishers at conference, regionals and state, headline the girls first team. 

Muscatine's Brina Kraft, North Scott's Presley Case and Bettendorf's duo of Trinity Borland and Ally Gallagher are also on the first team along with Rock Island's Dulce Perez. 


First team

Trinity Borland, jr., Bettendorf: Pieced together a remarkable October with a runner-up finish at the conference meet (18:35), third at the state qualifier (19:16) and eighth at state meet (18:55), best finish among locals in Class 4A.

Presley Case, fr., North Scott: Spurred Lancers to their first state meet appearance in a dozen years. Placed seventh at MAC (18:55), fifth at regionals (19:28) and 13th at 4A state meet (19:02). 

Ally Gallagher, sr., Bettendorf: Bulldogs' No. 2 runner flourished late in the season, taking third at MAC (18:44), fourth at the state qualifier (19:22) and earned all-state honors in 4A with a 15th-place finish in 19:03. 

Brina Kraft, sr., Muscatine: Repeat selection and Iowa State recruit powered Muscatine to its first conference title in program history. She was fifth at MAC (18:50), fourth at regionals (18:37) and 44th at 4A state meet (19:41). 

Dulce Perez, so., Rock Island: Perez blossomed this season, taking second at the Rock Island and Moline invites and third in the Big 6 meet with a time of 19:06.6 at Saukie Golf Course. She placed 36th at sectionals. 

Joy Ripslinger, sr., Assumption: Arkansas recruit claimed her first MAC title in 18:25, backed it up with a regional title in 18:59 at Solon and a fourth-place finish at Class 3A state meet in 18:43, her fourth top-10 finish in Fort Dodge. 

Julia Schumacher, jr., Assumption: Overcame a sluggish start to the season with a fourth-place finish at the conference meet (18:45), second at the Solon regional (19:22) and third at the 3A state meet (18:43). 

Honorable mention

Alleman: Addie Pulley, jr.; Anna Darrow, so.; Reagan Bush, sr. Bettendorf: Sydney Spranger, sr. Moline: Alexis Wolf, jr. Muscatine: Moriah Morter, jr.; Danielle Roos, sr. North Scott: Abbi Lafrenz, fr.; Maddie Case, jr.; Sommer Clydesdale, so. Pleasant Valley: Maddy Minard, so.; Abby Riley, so.; Addie Swanson, sr.; Mallory Lafever, so. Rock Island: Jayla Hathorn, fr., Jade Ford, jr. United Township: Brinley Rodgers, fr. 


First team

Alex Bautista, sr., Muscatine: Clinton Invitational champion and Missouri Western recruit was third at conference meet (16:09), fourth at districts (16:03) and earned all-state with a 14th-place finish in Class 4A in 16:09. 

Augie Darrow, sr., Alleman: Was Mr. Consistent for the Pioneers, taking second in the Big Six meet, less than a second behind teammate Spencer Smith. Was second at regionals, 16th at sectionals and 47th at state.

Dalton Martin, jr., United Township: Took third in Big Six with a time of 15:34.9, seventh at sectionals (15:56.8) and 93rd at state, all of these races after coming back from a tailbone injury suffered earlier in the season. 

Spencer Smith, jr., Alleman: Western Big Six Champion with a time of 15:34.3 at Saukie's 3-mile course. Also first at Moline and Dunlap in regular season before injuries took their toll and finished 67th at sectionals. 

Konnor Sommer, jr., Pleasant Valley: The Spartans' No. 2 runner placed second at MAC meet in a career-best 15:59, was fourth at districts (16:23) and crossed in 17th place at the 4A state meet in (16:15). 

Andrew Wright, jr., Davenport West: A two-time state qualifier, he was a top-10 finisher at the conference meet, fifth at Crow Creek Park for districts (16:24) and placed 30th at the 4A state meet (16:32).

Nicholas Yanek, jr., Pleasant Valley: Breezed to the MAC title in a personal-best (15:31) for 5,000 meters, claimed district championship in 16:04 and fueled Spartans to state runner-up finish with 10th-place showing in 16:01. 

Honorable mention

Alleman: Ben Weaver, jr. Assumption: Chris Guise, fr. Bettendorf: Jackson Stamper, jr. Davenport Central: Nate Trasowech, sr. Davenport North: Zach Schocker, jr.; Matt Dibbern, so. Moline: Andrew Ellison, jr.; Nikola Stojanovic, so.; Tim Wolf, fr.; Logan Pauley, sr.  Muscatine: Kyle Hoffman, sr.; Tyler Olson, jr. Pleasant Valley: Anthony Pena, jr.; Mark Conway, sr.; Parker Huhn, so.; Gavin Smith, so.; Ben Gorman, sr. United Township:  Sawyer Swearingen, sr.; Trent Viren, sr.; James Wright, fr. 


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.