Subscribe for 17¢ / day

North Scott's Jared Rus (11) was named first team all-state by the Iowa Newspaper Association. Rus had nearly 1,400 rushing yards and was among the team's tackle leaders this season.

North Scott's football team pieced together one of its best seasons in program history.

With nine wins, a district championship and a trip to the Class 4A state quarterfinals, the Lancers were rewarded on the Iowa Newspaper Association's all-state teams released today.

Offensive lineman Cole Ernst, defensive end Zach Petersen and linebacker Jared Rus were selected to the first team.

Bettendorf's Jatten Kuhrt, the defensive MVP of Class 4A District 7, also earned a spot on the first team as did Muscatine defensive lineman Nolan Bell.

Unlike previous years when sports writers gathered in Des Moines to talk and vote on all-state teams, the INA changed to an online vote this season. Nominations were based on all-district teams selected by the coaches.

Ernst is a 6-foot-4 and 325-pound left guard who created openings for an offense that averaged 37 points per game.

Petersen, who recently picked up an offer from Illinois, was among the sack leaders in 4A with 10.

Rus was a two-way threat for Lancers, rushing for nearly 1,400 yards and collecting nearly 40 tackles.

Kuhrt was the Bulldogs' leading tackler and compiled 21 tackles for loss.

Pleasant Valley offensive lineman Zach James and punt returner Brennan Sarver made the second team. Tailback Arthur Braden and linebacker David Mathews were voted to the third team. North Scott's Carson Rollinger also was on the third team as a defensive back.

In Class 3A, Davenport Assumption quarterback Jayce Levy was voted to the second team as was punter Adam Sigwarth. Defensive lineman Donaven Juarez was a third-team selection.

Levy finished his career with 2,143 passing yards, 2,168 rushing and 185 receiving. He accounted for 60 career scores.

Bellevue quarterback Cade Daugherty and receiver Trey Daugherty were first-team choices in Class 1A along with Tipton offensive linemen Will Avery and Keith Penningroth.

The Comets' Zach Bullock, Riley Konrardy and Trevor Hager made the second team. In 2A, West Liberty's Joe Kelly was a second-team choice.

Midland's Austin Smith -- who set the career single-season rushing record for Iowa 8-player football with 2,892 yards -- was a first-team selection. Teammates Brett Schoenherr, Drew Gravel and Fisher Bisinger made the third team.