Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Bettendorf, Pleasant Valley pace All-MAC girls soccer teams
topical alert

Bettendorf, Pleasant Valley pace All-MAC girls soccer teams

  • 0

Bettendorf's Sophia Utsinger (4) and Avery Horner (6) celebrate a goal against Moline during their game at TouVelle Stadium on May 27. Horner and Utsinger were named first team all-conference Monday.

League co-champions Bettendorf and Pleasant Valley combined for seven of the 13 spots on the Mississippi Athletic Conference's girls soccer first team.

PV, ranked second in Class 3A, was represented by freshman forward Morgan Russmann, junior midfielder Camryn Woods and senior defenders Morgan Rinker and Maya Hartz.

Bettendorf's Avery Horner, the conference's top goal scorer, made the first team along with midfielder Sophia Utsinger and defender Riley Markham.

State qualifiers Muscatine and Davenport Assumption each had two first-team selections.

The Muskies, who qualified for their first state tournament in 14 years, were led by junior forward Mya Jansen and junior midfielder Sophia Thomas. The Knights, seeking a fifth consecutive 1A state title, had junior forward/midfielder Jade Jackson and senior defender Katie Boldt on the top team.

North Scott sophomore midfielder Kendall Knisley, with a team-high 20 goals, was on the first team along with Davenport Central keeper Addie Ford.

PV's Ed Knupp was named coach of the year.

All-MAC soccer

First team

Forwards -- Avery Horner, jr., Bettendorf; Morgan Russmann, fr., Pleasant Valley; Mya Jansen, jr., Muscatine; Jade Jackson, jr., Assumption

Midfielders -- Sophia Utsinger, sr., Bettendorf; Sophia Thomas, jr., Muscatine; Kendall Knisley, so., North Scott; Camryn Woods, jr., Pleasant Valley

Defenders -- Morgan Rinker, sr., Pleasant Valley; Riley Markham, jr., Bettendorf; Maya Hartz, sr., Pleasant Valley; Katie Boldt, sr., Assumption

Keeper -- Addie Ford, so., Central

Second team

Forwards -- Meredith Connor, jr., Muscatine; Logan Brown, jr., Davenport North; Lois Blackman, jr., Davenport Central; Jayne Abraham, jr., Pleasant Valley

Midfielders -- Isabel Russmann, sr., Pleasant Valley; Autumn Skahill, jr., Bettendorf; Peyton Markham, fr., Bettendorf; Natalie Aller, sr., Pleasant Valley

Defenders -- Jordyn Johnson, jr., Davenport Central; Grace Bode, jr., Muscatine; Jordan Martens, fr., Bettendorf; Grace Hutt, so., Davenport Central; Morgan Jennings, jr., Assumption

Keeper -- Sydney Zabel, jr., Pleasant Valley

Honorable mention

Assumption -- Gracen Ruggles, jr.; Dawsen Dorsey, jr.

Bettendorf -- Delaney Speth, jr.; Ella Kilstrom, sr.

Central DeWitt -- Kathryn Grau, sr.

Clinton -- Sofia Tello, jr.; Lexy Lemke, sr.; Lakin Houzenga, sr.; Rylie Mussman, sr.

Davenport North -- Lauren Hayman, sr.; Emma Jauron, fr.

Muscatine -- Jenna McLaughlin, sr.; Abigail Rhoades, sr.

North Scott -- Lexi Ward, so.; Paige Westlin, sr.

Pleasant Valley -- Addie Kerkhoff, jr.

Coach of year: Ed Knupp (Pleasant Valley)


Get in the game with our Prep Sports Newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Editor

Sports editor, with my emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 20 years, the last eight at the Q-C Times.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News