Try 1 month for 99¢

Nicole Timmons punctuated her high school softball career with a state championship and a tournament-record 20 strikeouts.

Lauren Rice ended her run at Morrison with a win and state trophy.

Timmons and Rice, both dominant in the pitching circle and off to Division I programs this fall, headline this year's Quad-City Times all-star softball teams.

A first team all-state selection the past two years for Davenport Assumption, Timmons captains the All-Metro team. She was 25-0 with a 0.43 ERA and 321 strikeouts in 145 2/3 innings.

Headed to Drake, Timmons allowed only one earned run in six postseason starts as the Knights finished the season with 44 straight wins and their first state softball championship.

Assumption has three players on the 13-player metro first team. Joining Timmons is pitcher and infielder Hannah Kelley, a Northern Iowa recruit, and catcher Emma Valainis, a Panther signee.

Class 5A state champion Pleasant Valley has a pair of first-team selections in second baseman Carli Spelhaug and pitcher/infielder Alexia Lara.

Davenport West's Lexy Monty, Iowa's home run leader with 19, is on the top team for a second straight season along with Bettendorf outfielder Alli Wroblewski.

Moline and United Township each had two first-team selections while Purdue commit Ashley Peters of Rock Island and Southern Illinois recruit Maris Boelens of Alleman are on the top team.

Rice captains the all-Western Illinois team.

The Missouri signee and first team all-state choice was 22-2 with a 1.17 ERA and 217 strikeouts in 154 innings. She also batted .487 with 5 homers and 36 RBIs for Morrison, which won 23 of 26 games and placed third at the state tournament in Class 2A.

Rockridge and Morrison combined for seven of the 13 first-team selections.

Durant catcher Cathy Ralfs is the captain of the all-Eastern Iowa team. The senior didn't commit an error while batting .438 with 10 doubles, 7 homers and 51 RBIs as the Wildcats won 33 games and finished third at state in 2A.

Durant and Louisa-Muscatine pace the all-Eastern Iowa squad with three first-team representatives each.