Subscribe for 17¢ / day

There is a familiar look to this year's Quad-City Times All-Metro boys swimming and diving team.

Of the 12 swimmers chosen to the first team, half are repeat selections from a year ago. The team is highlighted by Bettendorf junior Caleb Aman, a three-event champion at last month's state meet in Marshalltown. Aman recorded one of the state's 10 fastest times in six different individual events.

The Bulldogs, who came home from the state meet with a third-place finish, have four swimmers on the top team. Aman is joined by Charlie and Zach Bunn along with Ryan Schade. 

Aman, Zach Bunn and Schade are repeat choices along with Pleasant Valley's Sam Lundry, Moline's Austin Morris and Davenport Central's Seth Land, who swam at Rock Island a year ago. 

First team


Caleb Aman, Bettendorf, jr. — Named the most outstanding swimmer at the Iowa state meet and MAC swimmer of the year, Aman won three state titles — 200 individual medley (1:49.43, automatic all-American time), 100 backstroke (50.89) and led off 200 medley relay (1:34.08).

Charlie Bunn, Bettendorf, fr. — Distance swimmer was 12th at state meet in 200 free (1:46.87), 14th in 500 free (4:54.12) and swam a leg on the third place 400 free relay (3:09.17). He also swam on 200 free relay at state.

Zach Bunn, Bettendorf, sr. — Stood on the podium in all four events at state — first in medley relay (1:34.08), third in 400 free relay (3:09.17), fifth in 100 free (46.47) and sixth in 200 free (1:43.34).

Kevin Burke, Pleasant Valley, so. — Swam on all three of PV's relays at the state meet and placed fourth in the 100 backstroke (52.27 seconds). He anchored 200 free relay to ninth place and 400 free relay took seventh.

Ian Johnson, United Township, sr. — Qualified for Illinois state meet in 50 freestyle after finishing second at sectionals (21.49). He was Big Six runner-up in 50 and 100 freestyles. 

Seth Land, Davenport Central, jr. — A four-event state qualifier, Land anchored the Blue Devils to sixth place in medley relay, was 11th in 50 free (22.12), 14th in 100 free (48.66) and swam on eighth place 400 free relay. 

Sam Lundry, Pleasant Valley, sr. — All-conference performer finished eighth at state in 500 free (4:48.53), 12th in 200 IM (2:00.03) and competed on two top-10 relays for a team that finished 10th at the state meet. 

Austin Morris, Moline, so. — Was an Illinois state qualifier in the 100 backstroke and 200 medley relay. He earned four victories at Big Six meet in 100 back, 100 butterfly, 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay. 

Ryan Schade, Bettendorf, sr. — Swam breaststroke leg on Bulldogs' state-winning 200 medley relay, finished second in 100 breaststroke (58.10) and sixth in 200 IM (1:56.90) along with a third place in 400 free relay. 

Andrew Shie, Davenport Central, jr. — Earned a third-place state finish in the 100 breaststroke (school-record 58.14 seconds), took 11th in 100 free (48.43) and competed on two top-eight relays at state. 

Joseph Shie, Davenport Central, sr. Led off the sixth place medley relay at state for Central and swam on eighth place 400 free relay. He also was 15th in 200 IM (2:00.90) and qualified for state in 100 backstroke.

Peter Son, Moline, so.  Won three events at Big Six meet in 200 IM (2:03.68), 100 breaststroke (1:02.95) and 200 medley relay. He was sectional runner-up in 100 breast (1:01.69) and swam on state-qualifying medley relay.


Abhi Sodhani, Moline, jr. — Captured the Big Six championship with a 340.40 score and was second at the sectional meet. 

Eddie Sierra-Lee, United Township, sr. — Qualified for the state meet with a sectional championship (356.40) and was runner-up to Sodhani at Big Six meet. 

Honorable mention

Bettendorf: Ben Luppen, jr.; Andrew Ottavianelli, so. 

Davenport Central: Charley Cummins, jr.; Devin Land, so. 

Moline: Avery Fowler, jr.; Remi Greko, fr.; Ethan Luong, jr.; Jack Thompson, jr.

Muscatine: Isaac Heth, jr.; Daylon Shelangoski, fr.; John Wieskamp, jr. 

Pleasant Valley: Dylan Hartford, sr.; Nathan McKay, fr.; William Nash, so.; Alex Wong, sr. 

Rock Island: Grant Osborn, so. 

United Township: Diego Hernandez, sr.; Jacob Johnson, jr.; Evan Juarez, so.


Sports Editor

Prep sports editor, with emphasis on covering the Mississippi Athletic Conference and Iowa area high schools. I've been in sports journalism for 17 years, the last five at the Quad-City Times.